1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Lock / Power Button Issue

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by zfly9, Nov 16, 2009.

  1. zfly9
    Offline

    zfly9 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The top button (to turn off the screen or if you hold it gives you power options) is having problems.

    Sometimes when I click it, it doesn't register.

    Sometimes it will do nothing, or it will give me the power options without me holding it. Sometimes I can't get the screen to ever turn off.

    Anyone else with this problem?
  2. msheldon
    Offline

    msheldon New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Gilbert, AZ
    Sounds like a defect
  3. DMac
    Offline

    DMac New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just posted in the tech section about my droid not turning on. Maybe it's the same problem.
  4. jwd45244
    Offline

    jwd45244 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Take it back get a replacement
  5. zfly9
    Offline

    zfly9 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Thank you, got a brand new one!
  6. nuclearbier
    Offline

    nuclearbier New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dayton, Ohio

    I have this same problem as well. It didn't start however until I installed Bugless Beast 7.4. Any other solutions other than taking it back or uninstalling BB? Of course I will have to return to stock before visiting the big V.
  7. Beavis2000
    Offline

    Beavis2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have had this problem on three moto droids now. I can make it go away by doing a factory reset and using a different gmail account. but if I add my primary gmail account the screen lock stops working. I tried uninstalling ALL of my aps and letting the phone sit overnight to update with Gmail then doing a factory reset. I have succesfully lost all of my apps, txt messages, and settings but have managed to hang onto the VERY annoying problem of no screen lock. Verizon has been of mixed help also. One time they say it's new the next they say it's a known issue and a fix is on the way, the third time they were back to "we haven't heard of this before". They did give me a phone number for Motorola tech support but I haven't had a chance to call them yet. on the second one they said that android 2.1 will be coming out VERy soon but the fix will not be included but will come very shortly after.
    It is however re-assuring to me to hear that someone else is having the same problem that I have been dealing wth. please share a fix here if you find one!
  8. ledridge
    Offline

    ledridge New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so this must be a setting that is being saved at google, which means it should be able to be manualy adjusted if we could get a clue of where to look.
  9. nuclearbier
    Offline

    nuclearbier New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dayton, Ohio

    For me the cause and solution was a program called "Spare Parts" (Only for rooted phones). There is a setting under the "End Button Behavior" header where you can choose one of the following: Nothing, Go To Home, Go To Sleep, or Home, Then Sleep. After installing this application it had the "Nothing" option selected. Once I set it to "Go To Sleep" everything went back to normal. Now when I press my power button it turns off my screen. So if you have the application "Spare Parts" installed that is most likely the cause. Not even a problem really just a settings change.

    Hope this helps!

    Nuc.
  10. Beavis2000
    Offline

    Beavis2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nuc you are my hero! Spare parts was the culprit! I had it installed for a short time then uninstalled. Apparently I had it for long enough to mess up my phone. I installed and adjusted the end button option and it works like new! Than k you so much!
  11. jamesam
    Offline

    jamesam New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks AGAIN!

    Seconding the thanks-- I have been fighting this annoyance for months! What a relief!
  12. D Roid
    Offline

    D Roid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    Nuc, you're my hero too!! I got annoyed at Cyanogen mod for giving me a ROM w/o the ability to save me some battery. Sorry Cyanogen mod and thanks Nuc
  13. chayes627
    Offline

    chayes627 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Same here fixed it
  14. Neupy
    Offline

    Neupy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Williamsport, PA
    Same problem...

    I just started having this problem tonight. I think its a dead button not a software issue tho. Is there a way to map the keys differently? Like use the camera button for lock/unlock? Its not a real big issue for me but now im wondering how ill turn the phone on if I have to pull the battery for any reason. Any ideas?
  15. DirtDiva18
    Offline

    DirtDiva18 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am also having a problem with my lock button. It stopped working about 3 weeks ago and then worked again. Now it's back to not working. I don't have any of those apps that you guys mentioned. I guess I can try taking it back to Verizon. Just glad i'm not the only one with this problem, guess i didn't do anything to make it happen!
  16. Neupy
    Offline

    Neupy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Williamsport, PA
    Well I called Verizon and they are overnighting me a new phone for free. Now I just gotta figure out how to unroot this one without a power button lol. Any ideas?
Search tags for this page
how to fix screen lock/power button on a motorola droid a855
,
how to illuminate the screen on a droid incredible without u
,
how to turn on droid 4 without switch
,
how to turn on droid with no sleep button
,
lock screen button not working on motorola
,
lockscreen botton not working on motorola
,
motorela bc341a11 master code
,
motorola droid power button
,
motorola droid power button works sometimes
,

motorola droid top button not working

,
motorola power button not working
,
power button on a droid 4
,
power button on motorola milestone not working
,
turn droid on without power button
,
turn on android without power button