screen response

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by marcfogel, Dec 13, 2009.

  1. marcfogel
    Offline

    marcfogel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am running 2.01
    Not sure if this happned with 2.0
    Sometimes, not always, I will tap an icon, the background will change color, yet the application won't launch.

    I also exprienced this when powering off the phone. After holding down the power button, the menu pops up, click on power off, it just flickers.

    Software or hardware?
  2. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you didn't notice this with 2.0 on your phone and now 2.01 is running...I would say it's 2.01 and not hardware....but I have not seen this.
  3. mwinne
    Offline

    mwinne New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Coastal NC, USA
    I'm going with Software
  4. marcfogel
    Offline

    marcfogel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had 2.0 maybe 5 hours before I got the update. I am not sure.
  5. marcfogel
    Offline

    marcfogel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't know. Very annoying.

    I was just on the phone and when I went to end the call the end call button flashed like i pressed it but it wouldn't hang up. I am going to remove applications I have and see if that fixes. If not. back to verizon
  6. mrschmitz
    Offline

    mrschmitz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa, U.S.
    I know for a fact it is software. It happens with just about any touchscreen device.
  7. marcfogel
    Offline

    marcfogel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hardware issue. I got a new Droid and this issue does not exist.
  8. mrschmitz
    Offline

    mrschmitz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa, U.S.
    You folks can argue about it if you like, but this issue will happen on touchscreen devices from time to time due to the event loop that the software uses. The reason I know is because my job is in embedded Linux software. I wrote a Linux touchscreen driver last year.

    The reason your new droid doesn't seem to have this issue is because it is a race condition that is random and usually difficult to reproduce.
  9. marcfogel
    Offline

    marcfogel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My first Droid did it quite often. every two to three taps. I know this will happen from time to time.

    There was clearly something else going on with my first Droid.
  10. RW-1
    Offline

    RW-1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    I also agree, from time to time that can happen no matter what the device is.

    I notice it most in, obviously, my most used app, dolphin browser, sometimes I think it wants a double tap to get the link to open.

    Bothersome? yes, annoying? yes. But not HW...
  11. mrschmitz
    Offline

    mrschmitz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa, U.S.
    Wow, every 2-3 times isn't what I was thinking when you first referred to it as "sometimes." If it was happening that often then your specific issue may have possibly been a hardware/touchscreen communication issue, assuming your "touch technique" didn't change with the new Droid. :)
  12. marcfogel
    Offline

    marcfogel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I found it to be very odd because I was using an iPhone 3GS without any issue and couldn't believe other previous iPhone users were tolerating this.

    Now my new device has a screen that is loose. I think I am going to keep it anyway.

    Who knows what the next replacement will bring.
  13. mrschmitz
    Offline

    mrschmitz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa, U.S.
    That is one of the "problems" that goes along with the multitasking nature of the Android OS. Since the iPhone didn't allow multiple apps (for the most) part to run, the processor was predominantly only busy with one thing at a time. The system software will get better with time.
Similar Threads
  1. LtKen
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    2,733
  2. peeg67
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,183
  3. Tibbi
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,060
  4. oneringer57
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    539
Loading...