Liquid 2.3 to liquid 3.0

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Roms' started by sleeper24, Oct 16, 2011.

  1. sleeper24

    sleeper24 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there,

    Can I come from liquid 2.3 to liquid 3.0? If not, which version do I need to run before I can run Liquid 3.0?

    Thanks
     
  2. JSM9872

    JSM9872 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,922
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Unfortunately you can not go straight from 2.3 to 3.0. To get onto 3.0 you will need to SBF back to stock, accept OTA update, root your phone again, and then you can flash 3.0.

    Alternately you could try the all in one installers to do it if you have the TBH app but I have not used them so I do not know the exact steps.
     
  3. bullswife98

    bullswife98 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sthrn Illinois
    Ratings:
    +5
    Uummm, from what you posted here your running Liquid Gingerbread now, right? Sooo, just boot to recovery, make a nandroid backup, wipe and flash 3.0... If you already have Liquid on your device just wipe and install.

    SENT FROM MY ROOTED/SUPERCHARGED AND 3G TURBO CHARGED OG.DROID1 SOMEWHERE IN THE MIDWEST!
     
  4. JSM9872

    JSM9872 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,922
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    That would be true if they were using a Droid 1. Since they are using a Droid 2 they will need to follow the steps I posted above. Darn locked bootloader makes jumping around a pain at times lol.
     
  5. sleeper24

    sleeper24 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's correct. I am running Liquid rom version 2.3. I will try the first suggestion first to see how that goes. I will post back on how things go. Thank you both for the advice.
     
  6. JSM9872

    JSM9872 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,922
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Like I said if using a Droid 2 those are the steps you will need to follow. Time consuming I know but so far 3.0 has been very good on my Droid X so I would say it is worth it.
     
  7. mattv111

    mattv111 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does Liquid 2.3 run of the froyo kernel or something?? Cause if it's GB like I think it is (but I'm not sure) you only need to wipe and flash
     
  8. JSM9872

    JSM9872 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,922
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Yes it does. It was necessary to flash it while on the same kernel as froyo.
     
  9. sleeper24

    sleeper24 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    UPDATE: I went back to the stock froyo rom I had made a recovery off and then did all the necessary step (wipe/flash all those) to run Liquid 3.0 but got stuck in boot load. Now I'm sbfing back and will provide an update once I get it back.

    Anybody know why it would get stuck in boot loader even though I did all the necessary wipes. That's just one thing I don't get.

    Thanks,
     
  10. Bassaholic33

    Bassaholic33 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, you need to be on factory update or gb leak to use 3.0. Preferably factory update.

    SBF to stock froyo.
    Do factory update to OTA GB.
    Root using one step droid 3 method.
    Flash Liquid 3.0.

    Happy Flashing
     
  11. sleeper24

    sleeper24 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I downloaded the Liquid 3.0 it was not zipped up. I took the two files in the folder I downloaded and zip those two up and named it update.zip. Is this what I was suppose to do or did I download the wrong one? I downloaded from the same post everyone else downloaded it from but in the droid 2 section.
     
  12. JSM9872

    JSM9872 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,922
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Yeah that is pretty strange, you should not have had to zip it up yourself. Do you mean you downloaded from the 2 separate links in the droid 2 section of the thread?