Liquid 2.3 to liquid 3.0

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Roms' started by sleeper24, Oct 16, 2011.

  1. sleeper24
    Offline

    sleeper24 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi there,

    Can I come from liquid 2.3 to liquid 3.0? If not, which version do I need to run before I can run Liquid 3.0?

    Thanks
  2. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Unfortunately you can not go straight from 2.3 to 3.0. To get onto 3.0 you will need to SBF back to stock, accept OTA update, root your phone again, and then you can flash 3.0.

    Alternately you could try the all in one installers to do it if you have the TBH app but I have not used them so I do not know the exact steps.
  3. bullswife98
    Offline

    bullswife98 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sthrn Illinois
    Uummm, from what you posted here your running Liquid Gingerbread now, right? Sooo, just boot to recovery, make a nandroid backup, wipe and flash 3.0... If you already have Liquid on your device just wipe and install.

    SENT FROM MY ROOTED/SUPERCHARGED AND 3G TURBO CHARGED OG.DROID1 SOMEWHERE IN THE MIDWEST!
  4. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    That would be true if they were using a Droid 1. Since they are using a Droid 2 they will need to follow the steps I posted above. Darn locked bootloader makes jumping around a pain at times lol.
  5. sleeper24
    Offline

    sleeper24 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's correct. I am running Liquid rom version 2.3. I will try the first suggestion first to see how that goes. I will post back on how things go. Thank you both for the advice.
  6. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Like I said if using a Droid 2 those are the steps you will need to follow. Time consuming I know but so far 3.0 has been very good on my Droid X so I would say it is worth it.
  7. mattv111
    Offline

    mattv111 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    Does Liquid 2.3 run of the froyo kernel or something?? Cause if it's GB like I think it is (but I'm not sure) you only need to wipe and flash
  8. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Yes it does. It was necessary to flash it while on the same kernel as froyo.
  9. sleeper24
    Offline

    sleeper24 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    UPDATE: I went back to the stock froyo rom I had made a recovery off and then did all the necessary step (wipe/flash all those) to run Liquid 3.0 but got stuck in boot load. Now I'm sbfing back and will provide an update once I get it back.

    Anybody know why it would get stuck in boot loader even though I did all the necessary wipes. That's just one thing I don't get.

    Thanks,
  10. Bassaholic33
    Offline

    Bassaholic33 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, you need to be on factory update or gb leak to use 3.0. Preferably factory update.

    SBF to stock froyo.
    Do factory update to OTA GB.
    Root using one step droid 3 method.
    Flash Liquid 3.0.

    Happy Flashing
  11. sleeper24
    Offline

    sleeper24 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When I downloaded the Liquid 3.0 it was not zipped up. I took the two files in the folder I downloaded and zip those two up and named it update.zip. Is this what I was suppose to do or did I download the wrong one? I downloaded from the same post everyone else downloaded it from but in the droid 2 section.
  12. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Yeah that is pretty strange, you should not have had to zip it up yourself. Do you mean you downloaded from the 2 separate links in the droid 2 section of the thread?
  13. sleeper24
    Offline

    sleeper24 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That is correct. Could this be the reason why I'm stuck at boot load?
  14. sleeper24
    Offline

    sleeper24 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just curious. Why root using droid 3 method and not a droid 2 method? Is it running the same thing for both?
  15. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    They were just 2 downloads of the same file, no need to zip them up. But from reading your other post you got stuck in the loop because you tried to flash it when you went back to stock froyo. As I said you needed to take the OTA and root that before flashing.

    The exploit used in the process was found for the D3 so thats what it is named that way. The method should work on any moto device running 2.3.3 (which is the most recent OTA update for the droid 2).
  16. sleeper24
    Offline

    sleeper24 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for correcting me on that. I did try to go from froyo to liquid 3.0. I got the sbf version 2.3.2 so I thought I was already on gingerbread but I was still on froyo. Just got done downloading the ota and installing right now.

    As for rooting on gingerbread. Will this post help me out HERE.
  17. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    No problem, and yes it should. That is the correct method.
  18. sleeper24
    Offline

    sleeper24 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As for the liquid v3.0 files. I downloaded just from one of the droid 2 link. Instead of getting a zip file and having to unzip it. I got a folder that contains the two folders that needs to be zip up into update.zip. Sorry for not being clear on this part.

    Okay, the good thing is I'm now on gingerbread and rooted. What is a good recovery that you suggest? I need to make a backup of this.

    Thank you for helping me out. I really appreciate the help.
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2011
  19. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Not sure why it did not come in a zip. Try downloading it again and when you do there should not be a reason to unzip it, leave it as is because that is how you will need it. It needs to be in a zip file and you do not need to worry about renaming it. As far as a recovery goes, to the best of my knowledge Clockwork Mod is the only one available for the Droid 2 so just continue to use that.

    But for now I am off to bed so I will continue to help you tomorrow if you need it. I see you have GB rooted which is good so just Bootstrap and make your back up then flash like you would any ROM.
  20. sleeper24
    Offline

    sleeper24 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    JSM, again much appreciation here. I guess I'll stick with Bootstrap for now. Will post back tomorrow on how liquid 3.0 goes for me.