launcherpro help

Discussion in 'UltimateDroid' started by lonzorizo, Oct 19, 2010.

  1. lonzorizo

    lonzorizo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I'm using launcherpro with ud1...and I'm gettin an available update from the market for launcherpro but the intallation is unsuccesfull. Since launcherpro is already installed thru ud1 does that mean I can't update it anymore? I tried unistalling launcherpro but it wnt allow me to. Anyone else having similar problems?
     
  2. xkape

    xkape Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Ratings:
    +37
    I am in your boat. However, I am using ADW so it doesnt effect me. So, even though I don't "feel" your issue, I thought it pertinent to note that I do have the same issue with LP. Tried it on my phone and my wife's.
     
  3. titans

    titans Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try backing up LP in its preferences menu, then use Titanium to uninstall, then reinstall from market, restore backup
     
  4. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Same here! The market said that the package wasn't signed correctly! Awesome!
     
  5. xkape

    xkape Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Ratings:
    +37
    I know it doesn't work but let me ask you this.... does the LP you have from UD do what you want it to? If it does, while not being able to update may suck, it doesn't really matter.
    blackdroid probably changed some elements of it and now the "real" market version doesn't recognize it as original and won't update it. So, you have 4 options here. 1) install ADW. 2)wait for BD to update it himself. 3) leave it be and 4) i don't remember.

    If you want it, clear the cache from your vending.apk (the market), delete the LP apk, reboot, use another launcher and make sure LP is completely gone. Then, try to download LP.
     
  6. bigmike35

    bigmike35 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    if anything u need to push lp back to /data section n download to upgrade and from there either push back to /system or keep in /data to receive further updates
     
  7. huskerkate

    huskerkate Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,650
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Ratings:
    +10
    For any app that is included as part of the rom, updates from the market generally won’t install. This is because they are in system/app, and are designated as read only (unless, like some roms, there is a mechanism that allows system apps to be moved to data to allow for updates). If you really want the updated app, and don’t want to wait for an update to the rom, you can accomplish it in one of three ways.

    the easiest way is thru root explorer. go into system/app, and then click the "mount r/w" button (to change the system files from read only to read/write). then find the app, long press on it, and then hit "delete". then push the "mount ro" button to change back to read only, exit out of root explorer and then reboot (this is important to get the change in system apps to "take.") when you boot back up, you should be able to install the app from the mkt, with the update.

    the second avenue is thru Terminal Emulator. type in:

    su
    sysrw
    rm /system/app/[name of app].apk
    sysro
    reboot

    again, it's necessary to actually type in "reboot" and enter, to get the change to take.

    finally, you can go into the rom zip file, manually delete/remove the app, and then reflash the newly configured rom zip file w/o the system app. then you should be able to dl the updated app from the market.
     
  8. bigmike35

    bigmike35 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    better explanation lol and more detail =]
     
  9. alonsou

    alonsou Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norwalk CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    This worked for me perfectly a few weeks ago, I still remember your advice, thanks husker....
     
  10. titans

    titans Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    1. Use Titanium/Settings/Root Explorer to delete the launcherpro.apk
    2. Go into /data/dalvik cache/somelongfilenamewithLAUNCHERPROinit (use your search softkey to search launcher to find it)
    3. Delete that file
    4. Reboot
    5. Reinstal
     
  11. huskerkate

    huskerkate Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,650
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Ratings:
    +10
    it's a pretty common issue - i have the schpeel saved on my pc, and i just copy and paste... ;)
     
  12. ZBoater

    ZBoater Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the same problem, but deleting LauncherPro.apk sent my phone into an endless boot animation. It appears LauncherPro was the ONLY launcher I had, so deleting it made my phone go nutz. Doh!

    Restored Nandroid backup (hurray!), installed Launcher+ beta free from market, made it the default, and then deleted LauncherPro.apk with root explorer. Rebooted, no endless loop! Reinstalled LauncherPro from Market and all is well.
     
Search tags for this page

how to push launcher pro