Launcher Pro updating fix for UD2

Discussion in 'UltimateDroid' started by Demolition Man, Nov 9, 2010.

  1. Demolition Man
    Offline

    Demolition Man Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pawnee, IN
    Ratings:
    +0
    (This is the same fix as from UD1 but I thought I'd pass it along for those who aren't familiar with it - I can't find the original thread where this info came from so if someone who has better search skills than me can find it I'd love to give credit for the info to where its due)

    First of all make sure you got another launcher installed before doing this since you are in essence removing Launcher Pro so you can install the newer version. Plus you'll need to do this as you'll be rebooting the phone once you do the fix and UD2 only comes with Launcher Pro.

    Now for the fix....

    Go into Root Explorer if you have it. If not its worth getting since its very useful for moving files around, deleting files, and what not.

    Go to system then app.

    Mount R/W.

    Delete LauncherPro.

    Mount R/O.

    Reboot phone.

    Go to market once you are running again and download Launcher Pro. You'll be able to install the newer versions from here on out.
     
  2. bodean
    Offline

    bodean Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the tip
     
  3. kwalnut
    Offline

    kwalnut Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can also uninstall it using titanium backup.
     
  4. alm0614
    Offline

    alm0614 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +5
    So we need to download another Launcher? or does UD2.0 have the UD launcher?
     
  5. Demolition Man
    Offline

    Demolition Man Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pawnee, IN
    Ratings:
    +0
    UD2.0 only comes with Launcher Pro. You need an extra launcher to use to do this fix so when you reboot the phone there's a launcher in place to be used until you download the latest Launcher Pro.
     
  6. alm0614
    Offline

    alm0614 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +5
    alright thank you
     
  7. Demolition Man
    Offline

    Demolition Man Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pawnee, IN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep that works too. Just make sure you have another launcher installed tho before uninstalling Launcher Pro and rebooting the phone.
     
  8. jimmy2179428
    Offline

    jimmy2179428 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    ahhh! I just deleted the Launcher Pro, now my phone is stuck at the Ultimate Driod startup screen. Please help...
     
  9. 666ogre666
    Offline

    666ogre666 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +1
    or browse to it through titanium backup, uninstall and either restore backup if you have one or redownload through market. Thats what I do
     
  10. 666ogre666
    Offline

    666ogre666 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +1
    Im pretty sure its replaced the stock launcher so as of now unless you can get to the market your probably outta luck. Id say boot to recovery and reinstall.
     
  11. jimmy2179428
    Offline

    jimmy2179428 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just rebooted and reinstalled the ROM. Thx tho.
     
  12. 666ogre666
    Offline

    666ogre666 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +1
    So to try and avoid confusion here are the steps.

    1. Download ADW from market
    2. Either do what Demo says above or remove with titanium
    3. Redownload from market, or find the thread on Manups Evolution theme and download the themed one. That includes transparent squared off LP Pro widgets which look way better especially with the black theme on UD
     
  13. 04CiviCon20s
    Offline

    04CiviCon20s Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Meffa, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Before I try the Test kernels, anyone know what the Stock Kernel is for UD2.0?
     
  14. alm0614
    Offline

    alm0614 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +5
    Anyone have problems with the 3d app drawer, mine was really jumpy and unresponsive, 2D drawer works fine, but prefer the 3D if i can fix it somehow
     
  15. musclemilk
    Offline

    musclemilk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is this a must?
    Mine works fine

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
Similar Threads
  1. Shmooze
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    2,760
  2. SID KELLY
    Replies:
    13
    Views:
    4,311
  3. bigfootjumpsuit
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    3,782
  4. Mwsr
    Replies:
    29
    Views:
    5,476
  5. pierced_droid
    Replies:
    63
    Views:
    7,298
Loading...
Search tags for this page

how to fix launcher pro