Launcher Pro Plus on the Bionic...

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by billyk, Nov 13, 2011.

  1. billyk

    billyk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I've been using the stock launcher since 9/8, with sampling other launchers like Go and Zeam from time-to-time. I had Launcher Pro Plus on my D1 for a long time and really loved it, but I read that LP has not been supported lately, with the Developer promising that he's working on a totally new re-write of the app, and customers pissed that he has gone incommunicado for 6 months.

    While I love the stock launcher, I was continually annoyed with the lack of portrait display of the desktop as I often use the Bionic horizontally. So I gave my old standard LP Plus a try. Wow, VERY nice on the Bionic!

    I know that Go is a virtual copy of LP, but I like the LP crisp/clean look and when I set the transition and preview speeds to "instant", damn, the Bionic just smokes! Everything is so fast, it's like LP makes better use of the processing power than stock. I've not had a single hiccup with LP since I installed it a couple of days ago, the calendar widget is the best I've found, and the vertical scrolling of the app tray is really usable.

    Even though it hasn't been updated in a while, this launcher works great on my Bionic.
     
  2. Shadez

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,425
    Likes Received:
    207
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Ratings:
    +208
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    Twitter:
    @Shadez69
    I use ADW, and love it .. it's a personal choice thing.
     
  3. Al Neri

    Al Neri Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tumwater WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I downloaded go launcher and home switcher. Am I doing something wrong, I have tried setting blur as the default until I have go set up completely. Every time I hit home or unlock the screen it goes back to go launcher.
     
  4. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,959
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Settings/applications/manage applications/Go Launcher/clear defaults.
     
  5. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,959
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    I loved LP up to the end. The end for me came when I started getting a little bit of lagging on my Droid 1. I then tried all the home apps and ended up with Zeam. It has a clean crisp feel to it and it has the smallest footprint of all the launchers. My wife has my Droid now and is still using Zeam. Turn window animations and transitions off and it changes screens instantly.

    On the Bionic I did oddly experience some lagging with LPP. I was astonished and dismayed. I then put Zeam on my Bionic and used it for a few weeks. Someone then turned me on to SPB 3D Shell and I was hooked in spite of the $14.95 price tag. It's amazing and I can not quit playing with it - tons and tons of customizations. One of the amazing things about it is just how complicated it is and yet I've never experienced any lag or redraw issues.

    Good luck.
     
  6. Al Neri

    Al Neri Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tumwater WA
    Ratings:
    +0


    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums

    I went in and it says there is no default set despite my putting blur as the default seconds before going into settings. I am not sure I can do without my frequent use contact widget.
     
  7. Scribble

    Scribble Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    It's an issue with Blur actually. It's very submissive! :p

    There is a fix you can download from the market that will make it so you get the which homescreen do you want to use. Without it, even clearing the defaults won't bring up the choice thing.
     
  8. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,959
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    The app Home Switcher has a button for clearing defaults too. Clear defaults and select the launcher you want to use.
     
  9. billyk

    billyk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I've heard nothing but great things about SPB 3D Shell. But that price tag... YIKES!
     
  10. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,959
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Yeah, that's a real stumbling block for most folks. I mean it's sooooo much higher than anything else. But I figure I'll use it on all future Android phones, so. . . Ah, hell, it's still just really expensive!!
     
  11. Al Neri

    Al Neri Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tumwater WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am using home switcher. I set blur as the default and it refuses to stay. It just keeps defaulting to go launcher. No matter as I deleted go for now, I just like the frequent contact widget too much.
     
  12. billyk

    billyk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I've never used Home Switcher, so I can't help there. I find that it's best for me to just move to a new launcher and then live there for at least a few days. If it's great, I stay. If not I uninstall and it's back to Moto's launcher.

    LPP continues to be 100% stable, lightening fast and it offers the specific extras that I really want. The SPB launcher looks very cool - maybe it'll be free on Amazon today? :biggrin:

    Doubtful....
     
Search tags for this page

droid bionic launcher