KitKat Root

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid MAXX' started by quizzard, Jan 15, 2014.

  1. quizzard

    quizzard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ugh, I wish I could go back to 4.4.2. Lost my root, tether.. :(
     
  2. Mustang02

    Mustang02 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    100
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Ratings:
    +106
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Maxx
    Yep. Never take ota without reading up on it. 4.4 root may never happen.
     
  3. quizzard

    quizzard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh lawd, don't say that. That would be hell for me.
     
  4. dasanman69

    dasanman69 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you tried Hotspot Toggle widget?
     
  5. quizzard

    quizzard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    My toggle works just fine. Lost my SQL files and the Entitlement check is turned on. Need to regain Root. I should have done more research before hitting "Update". Now I need to find where the bounty is listed. I'll give $20 to the dev that can get my Maxx rooted.
     
  6. dasanman69

    dasanman69 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You didn't understand me. Try this, see if it'll bypass the check.

    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.fattin.togglewidget.hotspot
     
  7. quizzard

    quizzard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did understand you. You're thinking a widget will bypass the check, it does not.

    I already have a widget shortcut. For posterity, I downloaded the widget you suggested. It does the exact same thing(one touch tethering shortcut) as the tethering widget I had. Unfortunately, it also fails the bypass the entitlement check. After all, it's just a widget.

    I need either root or a FoxFi update.

    Or, heaven forbid, pony up $30 a month to pay Verizon for Hotspotting.
     
  8. Jimmy8881

    Jimmy8881 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    XDA forums have a bounty thread for the Droid Ultra/MAXX, it should be advertised in other websites so other devs can know about it.
     
  9. leeshor

    leeshor DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3,130
    Likes Received:
    495
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +505
    Has anyone tried Kingo Root? I think I rad that it will work on 4.4
     
  10. Mustang02

    Mustang02 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    100
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Ratings:
    +106
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Maxx
  11. leeshor

    leeshor DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3,130
    Likes Received:
    495
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +505
    Not good as some people have used it with apparent good results. Good to know.
     
  12. xeene

    xeene Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    403
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    usa
    Ratings:
    +419
    From http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2473747&page=15
    " and yes, Kingo is safe. Issue before was that kingo was using vroot method, which contrained sniffers for imei and serials. Once kingo caught wind of it, they released a new version excluding said code, which is why they have complied with XDA requirements and all threads re-opened."
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. huskur

    huskur Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    Ratings:
    +36
    So I take it that Foxfi does not currently work with KitKat on the Droid Maxx??
     
  14. Mustang02

    Mustang02 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    100
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Ratings:
    +106
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Maxx
    Correct. It doesn't work. This will be my last non Dev phone I buy.
     
  15. huskur

    huskur Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    Ratings:
    +36
    Are you saying that if I purchase the "developers edition" of the Maxx from Motorola itself that foxfi would work?
     
Similar Threads
  1. cjj2d
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,576
  2. devdeuce
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    6,519
  3. moses1
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
  4. droideddie13
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    3,951
  5. Mozencrath
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,330
Loading...
Search tags for this page
droid maxx 4.4 root
,
droid ultra 4.4 root
,
droid ultra kit kat root
,

droid ultra kitkat root

,
droid ultra root 4.4
,
how to root droid maxx kitkat
,
how to root droid ultra 4.4
,
razr maxx kit kat root
,
root droid maxx 4.4
,

root droid maxx 4.4 kitkat