Just in case you didn't know (Navigation)

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by taypotts, Nov 9, 2009.

  1. taypotts
    Offline

    taypotts New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just found this out today.

    If you want to set "favorite" places for your navigation just do this:

    -long press on you home screen
    -select shortcuts
    -go to directions
    -you can then put in an address and give it a name like "home"

    There will be an icon on your home screen and when you click it navigation comes up taking you on your way.


    Hope this helps some ppl.
  2. taypotts
    Offline

    taypotts New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can also hit your search button to do a voice search. If you say "navigate to" before your search navigation pulls right up.

    It's a lot quicker to do it that way.
  3. andjarnic
    Offline

    andjarnic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento area, CA
    Actually, the OP is basically saying that you can create a short cut to a given destination without having to ever say it again. It's actually quicker. I did this for Home. Wherever I am, simply pressing this one button takes me home with talking directions. If you have a few favorite places, putting a few of these on the home screen is nice.
  4. taypotts
    Offline

    taypotts New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    isn't that what i just said?
  5. xjman349
    Offline

    xjman349 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why when i say navigate home it doesnt navigate me home. It basicly searches areas like "ivory homes" etc?
  6. lbarry
    Offline

    lbarry New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well done Taypotts. Now the search continues to associate this shortcut with a voice label, effectively achieving xjman349's goal (shared here as well)
  7. hyperlite456
    Offline

    hyperlite456 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    Yeah this is pretty sweet. Are there any other google voice tricks such as "navigate to" that you can say on the home screen for other programs. Lets say for youtube, opening apps or whatever else??
  8. mike.vagrant
    Offline

    mike.vagrant New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is a great tip. Thanks
  9. Willyammer
    Offline

    Willyammer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sweet tip! Been looking for this idea.

    Thanks
    You have been Droidedâ„¢
  10. wil318466
    Offline

    wil318466 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    awesome. This was actually driving me crazy. I kept getting places with "home" in the name and couldn't figure out why the damn thing couldn't just send me to my address.

    -Wil
  11. mjs31
    Offline

    mjs31 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NE Texas

    Gonna have to try this one. I tried just saying home and, of course, I had Home depot etc...

    Thanks for the tip

    Is there a Droid tips section yet? That would be great to have since everyone will be discovering something new.
  12. Beachmammoni
    Offline

    Beachmammoni New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks - excellent tip.
  13. forkup
    Offline

    forkup New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Great tip. I made a folder on my home screen named Places, after making shortcuts to places I want to go to I just drag them into the Places folder :)
  14. Gratchf703
    Offline

    Gratchf703 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    With your bluetooth headset, you can get the voice directions and keep the handset in your pocket or belt.
  15. bguild
    Offline

    bguild New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    can someone help me out here? when I long press on my home screen, all i get is the trash icon to drag icons to. When I long press the home button, I get the pop up listing last 6 apps used. when i long press the menu key on the home screen, i get nothing. I'd really like to use these shortcuts, but I cant figure out how to get to that menu.
  16. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    If you are getting the trash can, then you are long pressing on an icon or a widget. You have to long press on a blank area on your home screen till a menu pops-up.
  17. mslal
    Offline

    mslal New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Thanks for the great tip!
  18. bguild
    Offline

    bguild New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, the issue was that you will not get the "add" menu on a long press if you don't have an open icon space on your home screen. People should know that, but for a beginner like me, maybe not obvious. duh.. got it now, thanks.
  19. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,630
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    The other thing to do is log into google maps from your computer and create a layer with all the locations that are important to you. Then when you go on your phone and add a layer you can choose to add the google maps layer, and it will overlay the points of interest on the google map app. So you don't have to create shortcuts.
  20. rlb
    Offline

    rlb New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    I have this for hiking trail heads in NJ. Working on mountain biking trail heads too. This is cool stuff!
Search tags for this page
google maps didn't create shortcut on phone
,

is it possible to say navigate home on android