"Invalid credentials" email sync

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by Wopback, Mar 30, 2012.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. Wopback
    Offline

    Wopback Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    Need help........my gmail and ymail will not sync. It will ask me for password and then when I put it in, I get a message saying invalid credentials...I can't even delete the account.....anyone? Anyone?

    Sent from my Chuck Norris approved DROID RAZR....
  2. FoxKat
    Online

    FoxKat Resident Novelist...LOL! Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9,641
    Likes Received:
    1,368
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +1,387
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, Baby!!
    Let me see if I understand what you are trying to do. You are using the Gmail client app pre-installed on the phone and you are trying to use it to access your Yahoo email account? I've never used Gmail to access any email except Gmail. There is another Email client that can pull POP3 email, but you might actually like the Yahoo Mail apps that are on the Google Play Store better.

    I just tried to use it to access my Yahoo email but it said that account already exists. Since I have it installed on the Yahoo Mail app, perhaps it will not allow it to be added to the Gmail client.

    Try this...go to the home screen, then hit the Menu button (bottom left on the phone, looks like 3 lines), then hit Settings, then Accounts. This will be a list of all the external accounts configured on the phone. You can change your profile for the ymail account there, add password, change naming, or delet it.
  3. Wopback
    Offline

    Wopback Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    Hey man!!! You showed up late. I thought you'd show up earlier....I had to do a FR. I use the stock email on her which allows you to configure different accounts. I messed with the Back up assistant and it messed it up.....all is good now

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  4. FoxKat
    Online

    FoxKat Resident Novelist...LOL! Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9,641
    Likes Received:
    1,368
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +1,387
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, Baby!!
    Hehe, well I can't be here ALL the time, you know! LOL! Thanks for thinking of me though. Well I'm glad that all is well again in the Wopback community~! ;)
  5. SallyC
    Offline

    SallyC Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +61
    You don't mean to tell us you HAVE A LIFE????? shock.gif
  6. FoxKat
    Online

    FoxKat Resident Novelist...LOL! Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9,641
    Likes Received:
    1,368
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +1,387
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, Baby!!
    Where did you get that emoticon?! LOL!
  7. SallyC
    Offline

    SallyC Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +61
    Emoticon? What emoticon? Confused05.gif Maybe you need a vacation, FoxKat. goingonvacation.gif

    Attached Files:

  8. vry5
    Offline

    vry5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm having the same problem... how did you fix it?
  9. Wopback
    Offline

    Wopback Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    Unfortunately I had to do a factory reset and turn the BUA back "on" through the Verizon web site

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  10. nonnasmyladie
    Offline

    nonnasmyladie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +2
    I keep getting the same error but I am using a Gmail account

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  11. mmickelson
    Offline

    mmickelson New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same issue, with Yahoo Mail

    I'm using the default email app and have had my Yahoo account set up and working quite a while. Just recently, it tells me Invalid Credentials. I can't delete the account to re-add it because when I try, it says Invalid Credentials. I've checked the password and everything to make sure it's all correct, but like I said, it's been working for a long time.

    Please help! I don't want to have to Factory Reset the phone!
  12. gnique
    Offline

    gnique New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have exactly the same problem with my razr maxx. It just started yesterday. I have no idea how to fix it. If you find out please let me know (gnique@aol.com). Thanks - Nicholas
  13. Framinmama
    Offline

    Framinmama New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    mmickelson and gnique-I too am having the same problem. I use aol thru the default email app. All was fine until I used the back up assistant for the first time. Now I'm also getting the Invalid Credentials messages-tried to delete account to no avail. Anyone with ideas please let us know! Is this a common Droid issue or razr/maxx issue? Thanks!
  14. R.Aster
    Offline

    R.Aster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  15. mfloyd
    Offline

    mfloyd New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    I too had the same problem with getting the invalid credentials message. Only way I got it solved was by a factory reset. Called Verizon about the issue and the tech said it was a known problem with the razr and do the factory reset first. I had just set up my accounts the day before and the yahoo app never would work properly and the Gmail app quit working two days later. Hopefully no more issues with it.
Search tags for this page

android email invalid credentials

,
android email says invalid credentials
,
cannot access aol on android phone keeps saying already exis
,
clear credentials android
,
have an invalid credentials when trying to share pictures fr
,
i cannot add my email account to my android and it says invalid
,

invalid credentials

,
problems with login credentials for hotmail on android phone
,
samsung charge invalid credentials
,
what does it mean when hootsuite says invalid credentials