Individual Custom Ringtones

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM DX' started by kejar31, Jan 13, 2011.

  1. kejar31

    kejar31 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Heres what I have found so far

    1. Ringtones from Gmail contacts do not work but local contacts do
    2. as soon as you merge a local contact with a gmail contact the ringtone stops working o_O

    this has been tested and verified by me... Test yourself

    Now we need to figure out how to make it easy

    please discuss your tests and idea's

    BTW: this is not a Liberty ROM issues as I think this is a common issue with all AOSP android devices....

    I will make this a sticky until we figure something out
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2011
  2. Inkarnit

    Inkarnit Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Buckeye, AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Individual fyi ;)
     
  3. mtcawirtz

    mtcawirtz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK. So how do we make all of our contacts "Local" then? This would solve the issue right?
     
  4. nicotinic

    nicotinic New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How about some Backup Assistant


    Would Back-Up Assistant work to make all contacts local?
     
  5. dnj852

    dnj852 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am having this same issue, it works once in a while but not usually.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  6. acroyle

    acroyle New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Butler, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have tried this method by deleting my wife as a contact and entering her info back in just as a phone contact and still no dice.
     
  7. hazmat780

    hazmat780 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not only has individual ringtones disappeared, but we no longer have the option of directing specified callers directly to voicemail?? (works great on those pesky 800 numbers)
     
  8. kejar31

    kejar31 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    the local account can not be linked up to your gmail account at all.
     
  9. PerCompLLC

    PerCompLLC Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes you do... Open a contact and press the menu button. The next screen allows for a custom ringtone (not working) and for "send directly to voicemail". Send directly to voicemail works perfectly. :):)
     
  10. acroyle

    acroyle New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Butler, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    It isn't linked to my gmail account. When I typed her phone number it asked me about "phone contact-not synced" or "gmail synced" and I chose the phone only option.
     
  11. hazmat780

    hazmat780 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    awesome~! Thanks. I guess I'll just have to start digging through *ALL* the sub menus to see what else i may have missed.
     
  12. anrichardson

    anrichardson Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think i know what to do if I missed this already in the thread sorry.

    But, I have had problems like this too. What you have to do is SEARCH for the contact in Gmail contacts and you will find the local contact that you put on your phone.

    Then you will have to put what "Group" you want it in. It's like making sure that they are in "My Contacts". I've had this problems many times. Hopes this works.

    I've had multiple contacts of the same person because of it. Makes it difficult to update sometimes
     
  13. kameleongt

    kameleongt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    maybe try an aftermarket app while this issue is resolved. maybe ringo lite or whoitis
     
  14. rfranken

    rfranken Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't believe aftermarket apps work.
    If you find one that does post it here.
     
  15. acroyle

    acroyle New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Butler, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am at a complete loss as to why this is happening. I deleted all my contacts and manually entered them back in on my phone, used ringdroid to set individual ringtones for each one and it still rings with the default ringtone.
     
Search tags for this page

contact ringtones fix for cm7