If you were ever on .32, please update to the newest kernel

Discussion in 'Droid X Roms' started by droidxchat, Dec 11, 2010.

  1. droidxchat
    Offline

    droidxchat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  2. jhanford
    Offline

    jhanford Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've just gone through this and I'm happy for now. I still think a full OTA SBF is needed though in case I need to SBF in the future.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  3. hyperlite
    Offline

    hyperlite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why do you encourage this so much OP?
     
  4. jhanford
    Offline

    jhanford Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    This will bring you in sync with the rest of the DX owners who were able to update to 2.2.1 OTA.

    If you do not do this, any of the following will remain out of date and likely exclude you from any future OTA updates or make your life miserable in other ways:

    - Bootloader
    - Kernel
    - Baseband (Radio)

    The Kernel/Bootloader will be key for future updates.
     
  5. ScottyDsntKnow
    Offline

    ScottyDsntKnow Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    The full. 320 sbf works just fine if you completely fubar your phone. So they probably wont be releasing a full. 340 for awhile if ever. I would get it while its hot even if you don't need it right now.



    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  6. jhanford
    Offline

    jhanford Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Agreed. Especially after P3Droid stated that there would not be anymore SBF's from TBH.

    Do we know if the .320 SBF would roll back the baseband or mbm? I have all the files necessary, just wondering what to keep.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  7. ScottyDsntKnow
    Offline

    ScottyDsntKnow Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    It'll flash whatever they included, bootloader should be 30.04 tho...

    Regardless, we have all the files we need to unbrick and get to the current ota.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  8. Steady Hawkin
    Offline

    Steady Hawkin Fueling The Revolution Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Seattle
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I read the link for the updates......after the leak I'm on the 30.04 bootloader so I'm assuming I only need to update the kernel and baseband? A few people had issues with the new kernel because they didn't wipe data/cache, what's your experiance?
     
  9. jhanford
    Offline

    jhanford Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was on ApeX 1.3 and ran each of the obvious updates: bootloader, baseband and kernel without wiping anything. I've not had any issues.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  10. Steady Hawkin
    Offline

    Steady Hawkin Fueling The Revolution Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Seattle
    Ratings:
    +0
    So you did the bootloader also......so did you go to install via update.zip or install from sd? One right after another I assume without rebooting in between?
     
  11. jhanford
    Offline

    jhanford Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Exactly. I did the bootloader just to be consistent. I just didn't want any chance of it screwing up.

    I used the "install from sdcard". And yes, I did NOT reboot between updates.
     
  12. Steady Hawkin
    Offline

    Steady Hawkin Fueling The Revolution Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Seattle
    Ratings:
    +0
    Worked like a charm thanks for your help
     
  13. ScottyDsntKnow
    Offline

    ScottyDsntKnow Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    No issue with installing anything although I was already on the current bootloader and baseband so all I needed was the kernel and system.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App