I thought I was going to pick up a Turbo but...

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Turbo' started by cyberlizard, Oct 29, 2014.

  1. cyberlizard

    cyberlizard New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Mich.
    Ratings:
    +18
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    ...I see in the Motorola specs that the phone has A-GPS only. If my understanding of A-GPS is correct, the A-GPS function works only in the presence of a network (or WiFI) signal, which makes most of the GPS functions useless for me since I live near the edge of the network signal. I'm thinking (hoping) the spec must be incomplete since anyone using the phone for navigation purposes would be SOL as soon as they left network coverage. Can anyone confirm that the phone likely also has S-GPS and/or GPS capabilities?
     
  2. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,150
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    I'll check it out tomorrow.. See if I can help you with that.. Perhaps someone else knows now..
     
  3. cyberlizard

    cyberlizard New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Mich.
    Ratings:
    +18
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    Thanks 94lt1. I didn't get much help from the Verizon rep, and with conflicting info on the net, I can't help but to wonder. Of course, my plan right now is to pick up a phone on the 30th, and I'll have 2 weeks to determine if there is an issue "in the field", while I can still return the phone.
     
  4. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    • Like Like x 2
  5. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Looks like without an internet connection, A-GPS (assisted), will not function. S-GPS (stand alone) will. And of course hybrid (combining both) will as well.
     
  6. Ollie

    Ollie Droid Does

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    3,442
    Likes Received:
    2,103
    Trophy Points:
    1,468
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +2,483
    Current Phone Model:
    Note Edge - iPhone 6 Plus
    Surely it has a fully functional GPS.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Yeah, I'm not saying it doesn't have a. S-GPS too but it's sure strange that it's not mentioned. Perhaps they're just touting that it has the enhanced GPS performance.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. cyberlizard

    cyberlizard New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Mich.
    Ratings:
    +18
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    While in the store, the Verizon rep pulled up a spec list from the Big Red site that indicated both A-GPS and S-GPS capable. I tend to believe that, but I still don't like the conflicting info, especially when the Motorola site indicates only A-GPS. One of the other sites I found mentioned A-GPS and Glonass capability - hard to feel confident about the info out there. I guess I will find out for myself in a few hours now...
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,532
    Likes Received:
    7,090
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,437
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    I have to agree with the others that they'd be insane to make a phone with those specs and not include standalone gps. That's been the standard for quite some time now and they know people use these devices on the road and etc where coverage is sparse or non-existent.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Ollie

    Ollie Droid Does

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    3,442
    Likes Received:
    2,103
    Trophy Points:
    1,468
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +2,483
    Current Phone Model:
    Note Edge - iPhone 6 Plus
    It would be very easy to find out. Put the store phone into Airplane mode, activate the GPS, then launch Maps. If the GPS searching icon blinks in the status bar then it is S-GPS.

    I wouldn't think it to be necessary though since I've never heard of a smartphone without a standalone GPS.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. Ollie

    Ollie Droid Does

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    3,442
    Likes Received:
    2,103
    Trophy Points:
    1,468
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +2,483
    Current Phone Model:
    Note Edge - iPhone 6 Plus
    I think they mention A-GPS to tout it as a superior phone since it is an enhancement to the already on board GPS. Basically, "this phone is great because we've added better functionality".
     
    • Like Like x 2
  12. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    My thoughts exactly.
     
Search tags for this page
does a droid turbo have a gps reciever
,
droid turbo 2 glonass
,

droid turbo activation incomplete

,
droid turbo gps
,
droid turbo gps functionality
,
droid turbo sgps
,
motorola turbo