I Bricked My New Droid 2 Global :( HELP!!!

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by kunwar, May 13, 2011.

  1. kunwar
    Offline

    kunwar New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok. I flashed Liberty Rom 1.5 on my droid 2 global upon reboot I found my phone stuck on the liberty screen for about 15 min before I pulled out the battery. It is now stuck on bootloader screen. I tried loading 2.3.29 and 2.3.33 sbf via rsd lite but after 100% I get an error Flashing Failed and just before that I get one of the drivers has malfunctioned
    Please Help SOS
  2. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Search for the sbf file for the d2. Instructions will probably be in that post. Try going to your backup first (you do have one right?). Sbf wipes the phone. Reroot and flash your favorite ROM.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  3. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    BTW, you aren't bricked, your phone will rise again. I'll check back in a bit to see how you got along.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  4. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Make sure you get the d2g sbf, not the d2....

    Try booting into recovery (hold x while booting, hit search on the keyboard when the triangle appears) and wipe data/factory reset.

    Also, why are you using 1.5? 2.0.1 has been out for about a month now. Its in the Liberty- X section. Make sure to flash the grd romer and look on pg8 of the "Liberty 2.0 works with Romer v7" thread in the grd section. there's an attachment that you need in order for it to not lose data. Id link you to everything but on phone =/

    Sent from an Angelic D2G
  5. kunwar
    Offline

    kunwar New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes. I did root it with zroot and installed recovery. I did download the sbf and tried it via rsb but it doesnt work.
    Do you know how I can charge my battery while I am in this state. I must have doen sbf maybe like 5 times maybe more but It doesnt seem to work now i get a flashing messge battery low
  6. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    You either need another battery or a charger that the battery plugs into.

    After sbf'ing did you beet into stock recovery and wipe data/factory reset?

    Sent from an Angelic D2G
  7. kingsway8605
    Offline

    kingsway8605 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How did it "not work?"

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  8. kunwar
    Offline

    kunwar New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After reading your reply I tried holding x while pressing the on button but it still is on boot loader as a matter of fact the minut I put the battery it comes on bootloader screen.
  9. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    You need to charge the battery some then

    Sent from an Angelic D2G
  10. kunwar
    Offline

    kunwar New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just put my phone on charge with the plug will it work?? I dont see the light and the low battery is still flashing.
  11. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    No, the phone can't charge in the bootloader or in recovery modes.

    Sent from an Angelic D2G
  12. kunwar
    Offline

    kunwar New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks guys for taking time to try to help me out. its night time in India I will try to figure out a way to charge my battery and will be back tomorrow
  13. leobg
    Offline

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Battery will not charge in the phone if phone cannot boot properly. You will need either external charger, or to charge battery in another (working) phone. Alternatively you can make yourself MOTO USB flashing cable (check TBH for that).
  14. Xplorer4x4
    Offline

    Xplorer4x4 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Evansville,IN
    Keep in mind that you have a D2G. This is not a D2. The phone is almost exactly the same aside from a CPU upgrade and the radio(read cellular antenna, not FM radio). As the others point out, go with Liberty 2.0.1 next time, and do your research if you dont want to end up with a brick. You need the Romer V7 tool located in the Get R Done forum. You have to flash this directly after you flash liberty or else you bootloop. If you used the romer, chances are it would have booted up just fine.

    Not being mean, but we know you need help, and everyone here is glad to help when they get a chance to. We all have lives outside the forum.

    We are glad to help but please always provide details. "It doesn't work" could always be a number of problems. If you take a vehicle to a mechanic are you going to to tell him "My vehicle doesnt work" or would you say something like I hear a grinding when I try to stop? Do you go the doctor and say "doc my body hurts" or would you say "My arm/leg/neck/whatever hurts?"

    Not trying to lecture you hear just trying to tell you how we can better assist you in the future. Good luck on your next install of Liberty. You wont regret it!
  15. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Just wanted to correct ya on something..... It will still boot fine without the romer, you just wont be able to get service at all. So no, it wouldnt have made a difference if had flashed it right after....
  16. kunwar
    Offline

    kunwar New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks. Its fixed. I was trying to run Rsd Lite from my home comp and it would give an error message "one of the driver has malfunctioned" and "Flashing failed" error. I tried my work comp and the phone was fixed. I got a little worried but you guys were there and I could not have done it without you guys. Thank you once again [​IMG]
    Any posts where I can find Droid 2 Global roms and instructions to port them??
    And also I would like your suggestions on a good rom.
  17. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Your welcome, if you need anything else dont hesitate to ask.

    Im a little biased but i suggest mine (link to thread is in signature) or Fenom. Theyre both in the Droid 2 Global Roms section. If you want a stock feel, I would suggest Ultim8gamer's Diet Droid. Its in the Get R Done section.
  18. Xplorer4x4
    Offline

    Xplorer4x4 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Evansville,IN
    You sure on that? As you know Apex boot loops with the romer, so kind of amused most D2 roms would. If im wrong thanks for pointing that out. :)

    The roms are in the D2G Roms forum and the Get R Done Roms forum. BTW theres not "porting." Porting is taking something incompatible, say a them for a Droid 1 Rom, and making it compatible with the D2 or D2G You just flash D2G roms and reboot. As for instructions, its pretty universal for the most part. Zip on SD card and flash it by booting in to clockwork from the D2 Bootstrap. Just make sure to read the first post of the thread to be sure theres nothing out of the ordinary.
    Last edited: May 14, 2011
Search tags for this page

how to know if bricked droid 2 is charging

,
how to sbf bricked droid 2 global
,
how to tell if a bricked droid 2 is charging