HTC keyboard on DROID -non-root-

Discussion in 'Android News' started by RinTinTigger, Mar 10, 2010.

  1. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main

    [​IMG]

    The guys at XDA are still playing around with some nice things! Now they transferred the damn goot HTC software keyboard to DROID.

    Check this out!


    Tigger




    Instructions for all not familiar with this:

    Download this file http://uploaded.to/file/hozimj tou your PC!
    Unzip and copy it to your SDCard
    Install the two *.APK files using a file explorer like ASTRO
    copy the .htcime file to the root of your SDcard
    Goto menue> Settings> language and keyboard and select the touchplus keyboard.

    HAVE FUN!

    [​IMG][​IMG]


    Note: Only install if you know the risk of installing from unknown sources





    ***VERSION 16 ONLINE!***
    http://www.hallerud.se/htc_ime_hires_custom_settings15.zip

    ***VERSION 18 ONLINE!***
    http://www.hallerud.se/htc_ime_hires_custom_settings18.zip
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2010
  2. swallman
    Offline

    swallman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Western Wisconsin
    Are there supposed to be links in this post to be able to download the files ? Nothing is showing up for me...
  3. swallman
    Offline

    swallman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Western Wisconsin
    Nevermind - found them...
  4. unix.punkx
    Offline

    unix.punkx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bloomington, IN
    Installed! Thanks for sharing! I'll try it out throughout the day and see how I like it :)
  5. Slipstream
    Offline

    Slipstream New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Is there any way to kill the haptic feedback? I'm sure I can get used to it, but for now it's a little weird to have the phone vibrate each time you hit a key.
  6. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    Kill it in the settings!!
  7. Merire
    Offline

    Merire New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This keyboard is nice, I think I'll use it 'til the swype beta is released in French version ! Thanks for sharing !
  8. Slipstream
    Offline

    Slipstream New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I see the option to remove vibration from the stock keyboard (which I've done) but I can't find the same option for the touch input version. Am I just missing it? :)

    Thank you for posting this up, by the way! I wasn't a big fan of the standard keyboard... this one is fantastic.
  9. Slipstream
    Offline

    Slipstream New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Never mind, found it. :) It's under "Text Input" and the "Other Settings" function.
  10. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    settings/language > keyboard touch > input > check the vibration box
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2010
  11. sc4fpse
    Offline

    sc4fpse New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tried physical keyboard in AK Notepad, no prediction, even after I enabled it. Oh well. I'm definitely liking this keyboard a lot better than anything else. One-button switch between English and Russian? Yes please!
  12. yankees2009
    Offline

    yankees2009 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    could i download this from my droid?? becasue i lost my charger? Could I download it to astro?
  13. raife
    Offline

    raife New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This keyboard is awesome just wanted to say thanks for the hard work
  14. yankees2009
    Offline

    yankees2009 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Could i download this from my phone becuase i lost my charger?? please help
  15. butch350
    Offline

    butch350 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Uni-Matrix-Zero
    I'm kinda stupid...

    copy the " .htcime file " to the root of your SDcard.

    Exactly which folder is that on the SD card, the actual "ROOT" folder
    on the sd card?
  16. brochaos
    Offline

    brochaos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    butch, the main folder. what you see when you open the drive.

    and sweet baby jesus this is a sweet keyboard. even comes with awesome T9 and compact qwerty! voice input works a treat as well.
  17. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    Yea....im already lovin it!!
  18. SSHGuru
    Offline

    SSHGuru New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Is this for rooted phones only?
  19. TuBitMittens
    Offline

    TuBitMittens Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    It says non-root dude. ;)

    also these might be a silly questions but could anybody let me know more feedback(is it better than the default keyboard?, sluggish?, battery shortage..etc)
  20. TuBitMittens
    Offline

    TuBitMittens Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I installed the apk files and the other two files and extracted them in astro from my phone but when I go to the language and keyboard settings I dont see an option that says 'touch plu keyboard" or whatever..what am I doing wrong???
Search tags for this page
android keyboard scrunched
,
did rooting htc help keyboard
,
google voice typing not capitalizing
,

how to install htc keyboard without root

,
htc ime apk for droid x2
,

htc ime.apk low res

,
keyboard on htc one x is not alpha characters
,
why do android keyboards not work well in landscape mode