how to install kernel, theme?

tndroid

Reaction score
Dear all,
Just rooted my D1 last night and installed PE V6.5 ROM using ROM Manager after a long time research online. I noticed there are kernel, theme etc. I am totally new to these stuff. Can someone explain to me what kernel and theme are and how to install them? i guess i can just download kernel and theme to SD card and install using ROM Manager? do i need to change the file name to update.zip? or just use the file names as they are? please give a detailed instruction on how to install them using ROM manager if possible.
Just tired of reading through all these by my own...
Pardon me for being lazy and thanks for help.

Droid Firefighter

Reaction score
Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
Current Phone Model
S8
Kernels are what determine the speed of the processor. Your phone is factory set at 550 mghz. You can install another kernel to run up to 1100 mghz and any other speed in between. Kernals can be a bit finicky so it may take a few try's to get the one that works best for your phone.

Themes have to do with what the screen looks like and are simply installed over your current ROM. Just make sure your theme is for your current ROM. If you install a "blue" theme, most of your screens will have blue in it. Best way to understand it is to look at screenshots that are posted.

After using ROM manager for a while and getting to understand what you are doing look into raidzero recovery (RZR). I would compare the two to training wheels on your bike (ROM manager) and no training wheels (RZR). Good luck and hope I've helped.

BTW don't forget to read through the instructions on how to flash (install) the kernals and themes. Some are very specific and others aren't.

This post is Incredible 2

OP
T

tndroid

Reaction score