How to hover over a link?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by Mo6ius, Dec 28, 2010.

  1. Mo6ius
    Offline

    Mo6ius New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    Hope I posted in the right forum. This is more like a question for all touch devices. How do I hover over a link on my phone, so that it will show a whole list of things to choose in that option like I can do with a mouse? There are certain websites that I cannot access on my phone because of this problem, and it really limits my ability to use the internet. Is there an app to download, a certain way to touch the screen, or just simply impossible to do? It'd help me a lot. Thank you.
  2. titans
    Offline

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you're talking about right clicking, then the closest thing to that is long holding on the phone.
  3. Mo6ius
    Offline

    Mo6ius New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    Thank you for your reply, but that's not what I meant. Please take a look at the snapshot I just attached for example. I'm quite surprised I'm the only one who has this problem :sad:
  4. microsnook
    Offline

    microsnook New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmm. I am not sure. Might want to make sure you have Adobe Flash Player installed. Its in the market. Hope that helps
  5. Mo6ius
    Offline

    Mo6ius New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    I got a Droid 2, so Adobe Flash Player already came with the phone.

    Looks like smartphones can't replace PC's just yet :icon_frown:
  6. titans
    Offline

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try another browser from the market.
  7. captainoftheworld
    Offline

    captainoftheworld New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    None of the browsers I've seen have a cursor, which limits scripts or css that use hover effects or anything of that type, I know a lot of web addresses don't have a mobile site, but if they do Id use it, google is just makin sure we still have to buy computers imo :p
  8. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not possible AFAIK....
  9. TwerpPoet
    Offline

    TwerpPoet New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After a bit of searching I found the site you used as an example. Using Dolphin Browser HD the items with sub-menues have little arrows next to them. Just tap and you'll see the sub-menue.

    A quick check shows that this works on the stock browser as well.
  10. Tillyswilly
    Offline

    Tillyswilly New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bham
    with these phone usually when click on whatever you would hover over on a pc it does the same thing it wont open the page just pops up
  11. Mo6ius
    Offline

    Mo6ius New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    Thanks a lot for helping out, everyone. I installed Dolphin HD and it did solve the problem on the page that I'd used as an example. It's a great browser and I really missed out for not using it more early. Unfortunately, there are still some websites that it just can't do. I think the main factor depends on whether a site is mobile-friendly or not, rather than the phone or the browser.

    This is the site that I wanted to use yesterday, but it was down, so I had to use something else: Electrical Engineering Department - SJSU

    For instance, I wanted to go to the Adjunct Faculty page, but I could never get that far without going to the Faculty page instead. Props to anyone who could do that on their phone. I simply gave up. It's such a shame an engineering department's web page is less mobile-friendly than some other department's. Hopefully this problem will be solved once smartphones become more popular.
  12. TwerpPoet
    Offline

    TwerpPoet New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried this site. It is a little wonky, but I can make it work.

    Touch and hold the menu item you want. As soon as the submenu shows up drag your finger to the submenu and lift. You can then tap the submenu.

    Timing is important. Hold too long and you get Dolphin HD's selection menu instead. Also, if you try to resize the screen after the submenu is available it will move to the top left of the screen.

    Generally took me a few tries to get the right page.
  13. Mo6ius
    Offline

    Mo6ius New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    It's amazing you could do it :hail: Thank you for the detailed explanation. This is even trickier than the last level of Angry Birds. I either tapped too early, too late, or at the wrong place. At least I'm using a better browser now, thanks to this problem.
  14. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cool, Learned something new...been using Xscope for a while, might have to trey Dolphin out again.
  15. JulesBartow
    Offline

    JulesBartow New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Stupid Smart Phones

    Anybody got the javascript equivalent for onMouseOver and onMouseOut or CSS :hover that works on a touch device to pop up a graphic or display title and alt?

    TouchStart, TouchEnd, LongTouch, TouchMove, Kinetic???
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2013
Search tags for this page

android browser hover

,
android browser mouse hover
,

android browser mouseover

,

android hover

,
android mouse hover
,

android mouse over

,

android mouseover

,
dolphin browser hover
,
dolphin browser mouse over
,
hover android
,

how to hover on android

,
how to mouseover on android
,
mouse hover android
,

mouse over android

,
mouseover android