How to do a full adb wipe...help!

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by capo745, Mar 10, 2010.

  1. capo745

    capo745 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello everyone, I am trying to install a rom, but instructions say that I need to do a full adb wipe. I've searched everywhere on how to do this, but no luck. I found one thread that gave these directions:

    Boot into recovery....mount SYSTEM, DATA, CACHE...

    Go to your computer and type:
    adb shell
    format SYSTEM:
    format DATA:
    format CACHE:
    Unmount SYSTEM DATA, CACHE
    Proceed with install.

    I'm able to boot into recovery and mount sys, data, cache. But where it says to go to my computer and type, I get lost, don't know where to type this at. If someone out there could guide me in the right direction I'd really appreciate it. Thanks
     
  2. jbernard703

    jbernard703 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah you need to set up the Android SDK on your computer and have a successful ADB connection.
     
  4. capo745

    capo745 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, you guys are quick! I really appreciate it. Now, I did figure it out, but now when I try to format DATA, it says I have a bad block(actually it goes from 3 to 10), and still can't install my rom. Any ideas why is not letting me format DATA?
     
  5. jbernard703

    jbernard703 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't know, I have never seen that. Are you using ADB while your phone is booted into recovery mode? Also, i never mounted when running the format commands. I just booted into recovery mode then ran from adb

    adb shell
    format DATA:
    format SYSTEM:
    format CACHE:

    then i used backup/restore to do a nandroid restore of the ROM i was installing
     
Search tags for this page
adb format
,
adb format data
,
adb shell wipe data
,

adb wipe

,
adb wipe all
,
adb wipe data
,
adb wipe system
,
android adb format system
,
android adb wipe data
,
wipe data via adb