How to do a full adb wipe...help!

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by capo745, Mar 10, 2010.

  1. capo745
    Offline

    capo745 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello everyone, I am trying to install a rom, but instructions say that I need to do a full adb wipe. I've searched everywhere on how to do this, but no luck. I found one thread that gave these directions:

    Boot into recovery....mount SYSTEM, DATA, CACHE...

    Go to your computer and type:
    adb shell
    format SYSTEM:
    format DATA:
    format CACHE:
    Unmount SYSTEM DATA, CACHE
    Proceed with install.

    I'm able to boot into recovery and mount sys, data, cache. But where it says to go to my computer and type, I get lost, don't know where to type this at. If someone out there could guide me in the right direction I'd really appreciate it. Thanks
  2. jbernard703
    Offline

    jbernard703 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
  3. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    Yeah you need to set up the Android SDK on your computer and have a successful ADB connection.
  4. capo745
    Offline

    capo745 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, you guys are quick! I really appreciate it. Now, I did figure it out, but now when I try to format DATA, it says I have a bad block(actually it goes from 3 to 10), and still can't install my rom. Any ideas why is not letting me format DATA?
  5. jbernard703
    Offline

    jbernard703 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Don't know, I have never seen that. Are you using ADB while your phone is booted into recovery mode? Also, i never mounted when running the format commands. I just booted into recovery mode then ran from adb

    adb shell
    format DATA:
    format SYSTEM:
    format CACHE:

    then i used backup/restore to do a nandroid restore of the ROM i was installing
Search tags for this page
adb format
,
adb format data
,
adb shell wipe data
,

adb wipe

,
adb wipe all
,
adb wipe data
,
adb wipe system
,
android adb format system
,
android adb wipe data
,
format android phone using adb
,
how to format android using adb
,
wipe data via adb