Help!

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Roms' started by adriel16, Apr 2, 2012.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. adriel16
    Offline

    adriel16 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm new to roms and I've never flashed one on the my phone and I recently started looking into it.
    I want to install cyanogenmod9 on to my phone, but can't find anywhere where it tells you how to do it step by step.
    I got the files from this page: http://blog.hash-of-codes.com/downloads/motorola-droid-3/cyanogenmod/
    b
    ut I can't seem to find anywhere where it helps you step by step. I just want to be cautious and not mess up my phone. Thanks for your help :]
  2. cloudstrife05
    Offline

    cloudstrife05 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +1
    What I would do is first make a backup in non-safe mode, if you havent already done it. After that its pretty simple. In Safe-mode Wipe data / cashe / dalvik cashe, install CM9, install gapps, reboot.:biggrin: Once you yo get everything setup like you want it, make a backup of it.

    I just assumed that you have Safestrap installed already.
  3. adriel16
    Offline

    adriel16 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Umm no I don't have safestrap. What does that do and how would I go about installing it?
    Sorry, I'm I am not really familiar with all this stuff yet :/
  4. cloudstrife05
    Offline

    cloudstrife05 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Are you rooted?

    Rooted D3 Eclipse 2.2 ADW ex Launcher
  5. adriel16
    Offline

    adriel16 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I am. Only thing I was able to figure out.
  6. cloudstrife05
    Offline

    cloudstrife05 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well once in recovery you should be able in Safe mode. Select wipe data factory reset. Then wipe cashe. Then go into advanced and select wipe dalvik cashe.

    Then select install zip from SD card. Select the Steel Droid zip..install. then reboot.
    You should make a backup after that if you run into any problems

    Rooted D3 Eclipse 2.2 ADW ex Launcher
  7. nu2droid
    Offline

    nu2droid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    See avatar
    Ratings:
    +2
  8. adriel16
    Offline

    adriel16 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it the same if I am not installing steel droid, but cyanogen9?
  9. adriel16
    Offline

    adriel16 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  10. nu2droid
    Offline

    nu2droid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    See avatar
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yes, replace the name of your rom for the one in the directions. Pretty much all the same way..

    Sent from my XT862
  11. adriel16
    Offline

    adriel16 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you so much :]