HELP!Lost wireless tether ability

alexwilliams0525

Reaction score
I have a droid x that was rooted with z4root. I came back home to use my laptop on wireless tether and found that after I downloaded the new GB 2.3.3 update that it asks "Is your phone rooted?" when I use the wireless tether.
Im confused because I am new to this whole rooting thing, but after the update my super user app is still there. But I cant wireless tether.
Q1. Is my phone still rooted?
Q2. If not how do I re-root to use wireless tether again?
Someone please help me on this....dancedroid"I NEED TO TETHER"

brad92

Silver Member
Reaction score
If you have the over the air Gingerbread update, you are uprooted. Only way to get root is to sbf back to Froyo and install one of the rooted GB versions.

BTW, welcome!

sent from my ZombieStomped X

brad92

Silver Member
Reaction score
Sbf is flashing the Android system file on your phone with a computer to change versions. You would need to sbf to Android 2.2 which is Froyo. There are tons of how to threads on how to do it and also tons of youtube videos. I would recommend researching it first. Its actually pretty easy

OP
A

alexwilliams0525

Reaction score
ok cool so Im just putting it back on the old system that it had before the update? Man I see you help out a ton of people. Im over here rooting a bunch of peoples phones I know (Who all use sprint) then I go download this update and now am the only one who cant use the tether program. Fell like a chump.

brad92

Silver Member
Reaction score
Yessir. A ton of people are having issues with GB wiring tether, including myself. The best most surefire way is to stay on Froyo. I would also delete or freeze some bloatware on Froyo, that way you cannot get the update and it won't self install it.