HELP! I CAN'T FIND MY CURRENT CONTACT LIST ON MY S5!

Discussion in 'Android Support' started by shadownet, Jun 11, 2015.

  1. shadownet

    shadownet New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G3
    Twitter:
    lewischo93
    When I first got my G3, my friend was able to import my CURRENT contact list from my iPhone to the G3.

    Today when I switched for the S5 from the G3, the contact list was bare. IDK how to get the current list back the way my friend did it. I don't even know what he did! I can't contact him because his number is part of the current list as well!

    Syncing with Google only gave me a very outdated list which isn't acceptable. I've had at least 30 more contacts than this.
     
  2. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,346
    Likes Received:
    7,089
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,599
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    When you open Contacts and select menu > Contacts To Display, what is checked? It's possible that he imported your contacts as Device Only or SIM only and the new phone is set to your G Mail account only. Most phones have an option for All Contacts.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,532
    Likes Received:
    7,090
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,437
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    I wish OEMs would stop making this so confusing. They should save to the Google account by default on every device, but offer a popup on the first time you go to add a new one to explain that you can save them to the device. If you don't save them to your google account, you've got to do this copying instead of the phone just downloading them.

    Did you trade in the G3, or do you still have it too? If you've got it, it's likely that you can still copy those contacts from it.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. shadownet

    shadownet New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G3
    Twitter:
    lewischo93
    I traded in the G3. I would've loved to have both but that's unnecessary. Maybe when I'm rich and famous and more money than I can spend, but not now.

    I'm very very happy with the S5. I am bonding with it easier than the G3.
     
  5. shadownet

    shadownet New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G3
    Twitter:
    lewischo93
    Oh right I forgot. My S5 is currently updating OS from 4.4.2 to the current Lollipop. I'll have to see if that works.

    What if it doesn't work? Any suggestions?
     
  6. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,346
    Likes Received:
    7,089
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,599
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    Agree with you 100%. There should not be three or four different ways to save contacts and then it becomes so confusing with a new phone. If they were always synced with your Google / G Mail account they would always appear on every new phone.
     
  7. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,346
    Likes Received:
    7,089
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,599
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    Normally, an OS update will not make a difference. More than likely some of your contacts were saved as Device Only and some were saved as Google. Did you keep the same SIM card and use it in the new phone? They might be stored there? If they were truly on the old phone as device only, there may not be a way to get them back & they have to be re-added manually.
     
  8. shadownet

    shadownet New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G3
    Twitter:
    lewischo93
    Oh no I meant your suggestion. I have to wait until it finishes updating so I can try your method. My bad.