Having GPS problems? Try this..

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate' started by jrl9851, Sep 19, 2010.

  1. jrl9851

    jrl9851 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I knew about the GPS problems before purchasing the fascinate, and sure enough mine had the same problem. Then today a friend of mine told me to take out the battery and hold the power button for 30 seconds (with the battery out obviously). After that, put the battery back in and boot up.

    Problem solved. GPS locked on my exact location in under 5 seconds, and it has NEVER done it before.

    Worth a shot.


    UPDATE: Possible GPS fix (has worked for me and others)! Download GPS Status from the market and let it run...it should fix the GPS problem. Credit goes to Sessionthree (post #5)!
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2010
  2. jrl9851

    jrl9851 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If any of you have tried this let me know what your results are.
     
  3. dshinnick

    dshinnick New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope.

    Didn't work for me.
     
  4. Discover

    Discover Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm just glad to know it's a code issue, my gps works flawless on wifi.. So I'm sure a fix will be in due time..

    As for the battery pull.. Didn't work for me either.
     
  5. sessionthree

    sessionthree New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try downloading GPS Status (free) from the market. I read somewhere that this app did something to the initialization of the GPS that fixed it for other apps on the Galaxy series.
     
  6. Discover

    Discover Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you for the heads up on this program my friend.. My gps now works flawless on 3g. Super fast with the update table you can download to.

    Thanks again!!!
     
  7. dricacho

    dricacho Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Ratings:
    +0
    +1 on GPS Status Free. My GPS is dead on now. Thanks.
     
  8. tonamaste

    tonamaste New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I installed gps status free and watched my little loader pinwheel majiggy spin on and on and on..... is that because its constantly searching for position? ALSO I went into google maps and still got "Searching for GPS"? did I miss something?
     
  9. MrJerome

    MrJerome New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know about anyone else but this works, thank you!
     
  10. bsc504

    bsc504 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think I get a general position on maps from wi-fi but still searching for gps in maps and gps status has been looking and finding nothing.

    Any way to revert back to 2.1 until this gets fixed?
     
  11. Scott1974

    Scott1974 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought that we were still on 2.1? Has 2.2 been released and I'm missing something?
     
  12. bstr

    bstr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    GPS Status app worked for me and yes, I was skeptical. My GPS used to take a full minute or two to start working and now it is instantaneous and accurate.

    THANKS!!!
     
  13. hitmeister

    hitmeister New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    GPS Status

    Just installed it and so far, so good. Got an immediate GPS lock with Google Maps, where it previously wouldn't lock from my home location.
     
  14. Jamis0n

    Jamis0n Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Helped me. THANK YOU!!!!

    8pened!
     
  15. klaudiadroid2

    klaudiadroid2 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    rialto california
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks! It did improve my location alot! Worked for me

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
Similar Threads
  1. JohnDoeJohnDoes
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
  2. Gorf
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    563
  3. JohnDoeJohnDoes
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    3,420
  4. ccdroidx2
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
  5. Rhino94
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    2,076
Loading...
Search tags for this page
gps problems galaxy fascinate
,
gps trouble samsung fascinate
,
gpsdascinate fix
,

samsung fascinate gps

,

samsung fascinate gps fix

,
samsung fascinate gps issues
,
samsung fascinate gps not working
,
samsung fascinate gps not working verizon
,
samsung fascinate gps problems and fix
,
samsung fascinate gps searching?