Have a Droid ???

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by msu, Nov 2, 2010.

  1. msu

    msu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Midwest
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I got my replacement Droid 1 about a week ago, then this weekend had a accident and broke it. Laptop fell down on it while it was on the floor and I had the slider open and it broke/pulled the top half off(screen) and tore the ribbon clean.
    I was going to try and put it back together, but then I saw the ribbon.
    Surprisingly, it did not do anything else.

    So I called Verizon and had it disconnected and connected my old lg 8100.. Yeah I know, I'm dieing!!

    So I have a broke Rooted Droid one and not sure what to do with.

    Can I wipe the droid so I can erase all my info/set up, etc?? I really can't figure out how since i have know screen. (well I have it, but...)

    I could sell it as a part out or whatever, but there is no way I'm doing that until it is wiped. I could have wiped it with Wave secure, but I have already told Verizon to disconnect it.

    I canceled my insurance since I can upgrade on the 6th and didn't want to mess with it.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. msu

    msu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Midwest
    Ratings:
    +0
    bump.... Anyone???
     
  3. Quicksilver7714

    Quicksilver7714 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,437
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +61
    Sounds like your sol man. with no screen you dont know whats going on even if you could boot in to recovery. If you had a back up of the stock rom and someone could get you the button press steps maybe. Can you connect it up to rsd light? and re flash to stock?
     
  4. msu

    msu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Midwest
    Ratings:
    +0
    Recovery is set to Clockwork. So I could technically get into that and navigate around if I could find some online screen and just do a full wipe and then wipe cache. Then I would be fine with selling it for parts with a good ESN. I could care less if I sell it rooted. I just want to make sure everything is wiped as far as personaly info goes and the banking app that was on it(which was locked)

    I just tried RSD lite since I brought the D1 into work today and I can get into the bootloader and see everything in RSD.

    I'm guess a full wipe is the way to go once I find screen shots of clockwork???
     
  5. icculusX

    icculusX Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    The Moon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wowzers, be more careful man. Killed two droid already? Hope the laptop that fell was okay...
     
  6. Quicksilver7714

    Quicksilver7714 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,437
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +61
    Cool, glad I could help. :)

    Trying out Sprint for a month. Sent from my Evo using Tapatalk. 4G is pointless when you don't live in one of the few available network areas.
     
  7. msu

    msu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Midwest
    Ratings:
    +0
    LOL, Well yeah the laptop was just fine or at least I have not seen anything wrong with it. First D1 flaked out, second one button fell off and I had scratches on it so they warrantied it in the store. It is sad since this one is in nice condition.
     
  8. Ardax

    Ardax New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you can see the phone from RSD Lite, why not just flash an SBF that will wipe everything, like the FRG01B SBF on Peter Alfonso's site?
     
  9. msu

    msu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Midwest
    Ratings:
    +0

    Well looking for the best option. But, that sounds like a easier way
     
  10. Ardax

    Ardax New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The SBF will wipe everything, and I would think it'd be quite a bit easier than trying to count taps and navigate blindly through Clockwork. :)
     
  11. msu

    msu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Midwest
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep, you are correct!!!!! I will know here in the next 15 min.
     
  12. msu

    msu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Midwest
    Ratings:
    +0
    Woot!!!! Got it flashed and got the Pass, so I'm guessing that I did it correctly.

    Thanks a lot. Guess I will put it on Ebay for sale now since I have not sue for it anymore and just put whatever I get out of it towards either a DX or just maybe wait till end of month to see what comes out.

    Thanks again for the help, I needed it.