Handcent SMS

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by JScharf92, May 17, 2011.

  1. JScharf92
    Offline

    JScharf92 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am currently running a droid x stock. when the froyo update came out and sms messages didnt appear in the right order i switched to handcent and had no issues. recently, while sending messages from handcent, they will sometimes fail. Naturally i hit resend and the message would go through. heres where it gets interesting. sometimes, when i forget to hit resend or dont do it right away, i will get a response to the message that failed (my friend will answer the message that was reported to have failed). this means that when i hit resend the message double sends (which i have confirmed with friends). Other times the message will actually fail and the recipient will never actually get the message.

    I was wondering if anyone else has this issue and if there is a setting or something that I have messed up. I have no intention of getting rid of handcent any time soon so hopefully that wont be what people suggest to me.

    thanks in advance for your input

    PS, if any of that confused you please comment back about which part you need clarification on
  2. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've have very few fail using handcent....but have paid little attention to it.
  3. Ronic
    Offline

    Ronic New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Yup. Same issue. My guess is that the messages are sent to Handcent server, then to the person. If the "sent" signal doesn't get back thru the system, Handcent reports "failed".
    I notice the most failures are when someone replies at the same time.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  4. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Handcent server? SMS is sent via your carrier's network. No Handcent server involved.
  5. Ronic
    Offline

    Ronic New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento
    No server? How do they know what to "back up" at handcent.com?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  6. Othym
    Offline

    Othym New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    I have a D2 running Froyo and Handcent, and encounter the same problem. It seems to happen most to me when my signal is spotty, making me want to agree with Ronic's idea that it may be an issue communicating with the handcent servers.
  7. JScharf92
    Offline

    JScharf92 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't think handcent sends anything to it's server cause it works when there is no data connection

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
Search tags for this page
do handcent text messages go through if the phone is off
,
do you need internet for handcent
,
do you need to use data to use handcent sms
,
does handcent have to have internet connection??
,

does handcent sms use data

,
does handcent sms use internet
,

does handcent use data

,

does handcent use data or text

,
does handcent use data to send text
,
does handcent use internet data
,
handcent message app texts out of order
,
handcent sms use data
,
handcent sort messages by date
,
how to arrange messages in handcent
,
resend a message using handcent