(Google) Voice Search "Server Problem" on razr maxx

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by Drrooiid, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. Drrooiid
    Offline

    Drrooiid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    (Google) Voice Search "Server Problem" on razr maxx SOLVED!!

    I can't be the only one!! Has anyone else experienced the inability to use Voice Search on their razr maxx?

    Mine comes up with "Server Problem" every time! :mad:

    After getting MY SECOND razr maxx and having THE SAME PROBLEM, Verizon forwarded my call to Motorola, they sent me up to tier 2 support who said. "The one in my hand is working fine, send us your phone and we'll fix it." As if THAT's a viable option! :icon_ devil:

    Anyone else?

    EDIT:

    I got a 3rd phone today! I've discovered what makes the "Server Problem" come up!! Go to "Accounts", TURN OFF CONTACT SYNC IN ALL GOOGLE ACCOUNTS.

    Voice Search WORKS! :D With Contact sync ON, it errors out! :mad:
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2012
  2. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,636
    Likes Received:
    837
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    If you have a Blue 3G or 4G icon and at least one or two signal level bars and you get that message the phone should be power cycled. I expect the problem will be gone on power up. If you don't have a Blue 3G or 4G then the problem is that you aren't connected to the internet. Again a power cycle may do the trick or it could simply be local network problems.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  3. Drrooiid
    Offline

    Drrooiid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nah, that's not it... It happens on wifi too.
  4. connorandrew
    Offline

    connorandrew New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hm...Tested my Razr Maxx seems to be working fine.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2012
  5. msblueline
    Offline

    msblueline New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mississippi
    I tested my voice search and get a error message everytime. I'm assure an update can fix the issue, ICS might be a little better. Could fix over time.

    I am not going to return mine yet incase I get one worse that what I have now. We'll see though.

    ->I heard verizon is not giving phones out for replacement anyway you have to send it off<- Just used text voice to write this. Not a big deal for me on the text search as of just yet, I might want it later though...

    msblueline

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using DroidForums
  6. LarryH
    Offline

    LarryH New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Yes, I have the same problem and I know what the problem is now but don't know how to fix it. I just spent 4 hours in the Verizon store and they finally did a hard reboot erasing everything on the phone. With blank phone the voice command worked perfectly and never got a "server problem". Then we entered my gmail account (I have all of my contacts there) and with no other changes the voice command went back to "server problem". So there is some kind of conflict with the google account. But no one there had any knowledge of it and didn't have any suggestions. One of the salesman there said he had some recollection of some kind of problem with old google gmail acounts ... something to do with using POP3 but he was not sure of that. Hopefully someone here has a fix for this.
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2012
  7. JohnnytheK
    Offline

    JohnnytheK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,365
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Lucky for me it works. I love getting into arguments with my brother or mates and whippings out my phone and speaking and saying, "oh yeah that was blaw blaw back on 02." They just stare, did it twice today.

    Why would a email account mess this up? Sorry wish I was some help.

    Sent my new Droid Razr Maxx
  8. Drrooiid
    Offline

    Drrooiid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I thought the same thing... My account is new though! I'm glad I'm not the only one with this problem and I also thought the ICS update might fix it, but don't want to wait forever to find out it doesn't! :mad:

    Anyone else having this problem?
  9. Drrooiid
    Offline

    Drrooiid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, best feature of the phone not working... Only feature that blows the iPhone 4s away and it doesn't work!! What a gyp!
  10. GalaxyFlatulence
    Offline

    GalaxyFlatulence New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sounds like my bionic experience. this is why i will no longer buy a moto phone :biggrin:
  11. Drrooiid
    Offline

    Drrooiid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks 4 ur help. Moto used to b #1... Google f'd them over... Android needs WORK!
  12. GalaxyFlatulence
    Offline

    GalaxyFlatulence New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how did google screw them over?
  13. Drrooiid
    Offline

    Drrooiid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Android! The most bug-ridden OS since Windows Millennium!
  14. GalaxyFlatulence
    Offline

    GalaxyFlatulence New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have to agree with that. android have not been developed properly, but it's not particular to moto phones. they're all buggy. however, moto has by far had the most issues with their android phones because of their own incompetence with software. their build quality and hardware is solid, but they're just terrible with software.
  15. hoppyjr
    Offline

    hoppyjr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the same issue and found it was the Swift key keyboard I installed. While I really like Swift key, it would lock up my voice search capabilities after one search.

    sent using Tapatalk
  16. trhoads66
    Offline

    trhoads66 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm having the same problem - I get "Server error" when trying to use Google Voice Search (on Razr Maxx) from the Homepage - when I open Google Voice and use the Voice Search from inside that Widget, then it works. To respond to prior posts here, I've never had Swift Key installed, and I use as my Google Account an older Google Apps account. Has Verizon or Motorola gotten a read on a fix for this yet? If anyone has any info on that, I'd love to know.
  17. Drrooiid
    Offline

    Drrooiid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Verizon says it's not their problem. Motorola says it's the hardware, not a software issue, or it would affect everyone. There is no fix. Just out of curiosity, do you have the stock 16 Gig SD in it, or did you upgrade to a 32 Gig?
  18. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,636
    Likes Received:
    837
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Interesting, you said this was causing a problem when using it from the homepage. Do you mean the google search homepage? If we can find a similarity in where the problem is occurring between users perhaps we could narrow it down to what the actual cause is. I had google voice search not work for me at times like you folks describe but it has always been due to no internet connection. It has never failed when I had either a blue wifi bar or a blue 3g or 4g bar.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  19. trhoads66
    Offline

    trhoads66 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the stock 16 gb SD in, didn't change it. This is my first Android phone, given this problem, how likely do you guys think the broken phones will have other problems creep up in time? I'm trying to figure out if worth trading in the phone - I've already spent a lot of time customizing it/downloading apps, so I'm inclined to just keep it, but if this problem is an indicator that other problems are likely with my model, maybe i should just switch it now....what do you guys think?
  20. DocsDad
    Offline

    DocsDad New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm have no problems with Voice Search. I use it all the time. Sorry you are having trouble.
Search tags for this page
android voice search server problem
,
google のボイスサーチがサーバーエラー
,

google search server problem

,

google voice search server error

,

google voice search server problem

,

google voice server error

,
how to fix android server errors voice to text
,
problems with google now on droid maxx
,

server problem google voice search

,
voice search サーバーエラー
,
voice search connection error
,

voice search server problem