Google Now screen removed from Launcher 3?

Discussion in 'Moto Z (Moto Z & Moto Z Force)' started by Sajo, Nov 17, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    14,346
    Likes Received:
    11,837
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +12,393
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z4
    Anyone else notice that the Google Now screen was removed from their Home screen, the one all the way to the left? Maybe the Google app update from yesterday removed it?

    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    14,346
    Likes Received:
    11,837
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +12,393
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z4
    Nevermind, I figured it out. Somehow changing my wallpaper this morning turned off the Home screen > Settings > Swipe Access > Google Feed option. That's never happened to me before just by changing wallpaper; but an easy enough fix.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Gudasau

    Gudasau Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    906
    Trophy Points:
    1,483
    Location:
    Mountaineer living in Buckeye Nation
    Ratings:
    +933
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z-Force
    @Sajo
    I'm so glad you posted this! I didn't know what happened on my replacement phone, but was running AppFlash. I didn't realize it was a setting I needed to go in and change so I could get back to where I was.
    Thank you!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    14,346
    Likes Received:
    11,837
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +12,393
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z4
    I keep App Flash disabled; it has seemed to cause a lot of issues ever since Verizon pushed it out to us.

    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Gudasau

    Gudasau Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    906
    Trophy Points:
    1,483
    Location:
    Mountaineer living in Buckeye Nation
    Ratings:
    +933
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z-Force
    I didn't like it, but wasn't aware I had a choice. I thought it was a new look after an update, or something. I feel much better right now! Thank you, again!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    14,346
    Likes Received:
    11,837
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +12,393
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z4
    Just FYI...even with App Flash disabled every once in a while I get the pop-up for "App AppFlash Has Stopped" and then it disappears on it's own. Verizon has that thing trying to do something in the background even when it's disabled.

    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Gudasau

    Gudasau Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    906
    Trophy Points:
    1,483
    Location:
    Mountaineer living in Buckeye Nation
    Ratings:
    +933
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z-Force
    Good to know, thanks!
     
  8. TxDoc

    TxDoc Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    189
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +193
    Current Phone Model:
    XT1635-01
    I don't see Swipe Access-> Google Feed Option?
    On edit..I found it. On my Moto Z Play, I long pressed, as to add a widget and hit the settings symbol and found Swipe Access and Google Feed.
     
    #8 TxDoc, May 13, 2018
    Last edited: May 13, 2018
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Gudasau

    Gudasau Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    906
    Trophy Points:
    1,483
    Location:
    Mountaineer living in Buckeye Nation
    Ratings:
    +933
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z-Force
    Mine's not there even with it turned on.. hmmm

    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. TxDoc

    TxDoc Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    189
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +193
    Current Phone Model:
    XT1635-01
    #10 TxDoc, May 13, 2018
    Last edited: May 13, 2018
    • Like Like x 2
  11. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    14,346
    Likes Received:
    11,837
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +12,393
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z4
    I have been part of that long conversation and can consistently reproduce the issue by using my JBL Soundboost, which puts the screen into landscape mode. The good news is that Moto Z2 users with Oreo have reported that the issue no longer occuts since Launcher 3 was redesigned for Oreo. We shall see.

    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Gudasau

    Gudasau Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    906
    Trophy Points:
    1,483
    Location:
    Mountaineer living in Buckeye Nation
    Ratings:
    +933
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z-Force
    Just popped over to see what I need to do to get this back up on my phone. Thank you!
    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk