Getting new GNEX from work and selling old one. Need help.

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by poooookah78, Feb 5, 2012.

  1. poooookah78

    poooookah78 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    So I start a new job tomorrow and I'm selling my gnex to someone from Craigslist. Is it as simple as doing a factory res t and handing it over? Anything else I need to do? I have on old phone to use in the meantime.

    Thanks as always!
    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  2. higgins

    higgins Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    I would use the factory reset in the settings menu, then for added measures I would also wipe through stock recovery also. Can't be too careful. Stock recovery would be through the bootloader

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  3. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,070
    Likes Received:
    1,493
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,657
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    What higgins said.
     
  4. KeepInitReel

    KeepInitReel Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    Henrico, VA
    Ratings:
    +5
    Don't forget to keep the SIM

    Still rocking the OG Droid using Tapatalk!!!
     
  5. poooookah78

    poooookah78 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Keep the sim card?

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  6. higgins

    higgins Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yes keep sim card

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  7. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,070
    Likes Received:
    1,493
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,657
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Yes so you can put it in your new Nexus.
     
  8. poooookah78

    poooookah78 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    What does the guy use to get started then?

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  9. chevihemi

    chevihemi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +0
    whenever he gets it activated he should get one of his own SIM cards.
     
  10. turdbogls

    turdbogls Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    O-Town FL
    Ratings:
    +4
    he will have to head into verizon to get a new sim card (free) and get it activated. pretty simple/quick process.
     
  11. ConqSoft

    ConqSoft Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ratings:
    +12
    Your sim card is linked to your account, and can even store personal information in some cases. If your company is getting you a new one, and it will come with its own sim and be under their account, just destroy yours. Otherwise, just use your sim in the new Nexus (or any Verizon 4g phone with a micro-sim slot) and that's all you have to do. Makes switching between phones easy.