1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Getting back to Stock

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound' started by genebean, Feb 7, 2012.

  1. genebean
    Offline

    genebean New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    I dabbled with this ICS ROM but decided to just stick with rooted stock instead. When I restored my nandroid it wouldn't boot so I grabbed the stock boot image from Scott's website, unzipped it and flashed the boot.img via fastboot. Is this what I should have done or do I need to do something more.

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk
  2. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    You can always RUU back to stock, in HBOOT, what is the main version? it'll be listed as "HBOOT-[Some number here]"

    Also, moved to Help Section
  3. genebean
    Offline

    genebean New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    Here is what I see in HBOOT:

    *** UNLOCKED ***
    VIGOR PVT SHIP S-ON RL
    HBOOT-2.11.0000
    eMMC-boot
    Oct 6 2011,15:43:22
  4. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    ok so you can go ahead and relock, boot to fastboot, and use the latest OTA RUU and that will take you back to bare bone stock on the latest OTA update, then you can re-unlock, and use AmonRa recovery to reroot!
  5. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    [ROM]Vigor Shipped ROM Collection - xda-developersere is the thread from XDA that contains a link to the download of the RUU's, download the latest one: 2.01.605.11.

    It may take a while to download, large file, then just run it on your computer, assuming you have a windows based machine cause this a windows application.
  6. genebean
    Offline

    genebean New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    Two questions:
    1. Where do I find RUU's?
    2. How do I apply them?
    I came from the world of the Moto Droid and things were so amazingly simple there that I have never had to do some of this stuff before. Thanks for the help!
  7. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    See my post above you , I think i ninja'd you on accident lol
  8. genebean
    Offline

    genebean New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia, USA

    Too funny.

    Sadly the site that has those files is under heavy load so it will be a while til I can download the RUU. On a related note, where is the "official" place to find AmonRA?

    Total side note: your avatar is cracking me up!
  9. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    I just updated the OP to the AmonRa Recovery to link to the latest version here at DF, its in the HTC Rezound Dev section and is stickied. also check your PM's please.

    And thanks on the avatar comment lol i love it too, can't get rid of it lol
  10. genebean
    Offline

    genebean New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
  11. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    yes that is correct, that is the latest version of AmonRa Recovery, better than CMR in my honest opinion.
  12. genebean
    Offline

    genebean New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    If you don't mind me asking, why is that?
  13. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    well for one, AmonRa has the "install superuser and su" option, CMR does not. And since using AmonRa, it just works, and it seems to be pretty quick when making backups etc.. I haven't played with CMR too much yet, but if AmonRa works for me with no issues, why change? Also, AmonRa has been out longer (for the Rezound) and seems to be the choice recovery for HTC phones (just an observation across other HTC forums). CMR seems to be giving some users issues here and there, but, like i said, i haven't played with CMR too much on the Rezound and AmonRa works for me so i won't change lol plus CMR just became "official" for the Rezound last week (official meaning Koush himself built the recovery; i think at least).
  14. genebean
    Offline

    genebean New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    Any idea what part of this process wiped my internal SD? Also, any idea if the AmonRA nandroid backs that up?
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2012
  15. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Hmm, odd, never had that happen. I've relocked plenty of times so I know that doesn't RUU didn't wipe my internal and I've done that twice that only thing that I know of that can do that is some ROM's... you didn't accidentally wipe it in recovery did you?
  16. genebean
    Offline

    genebean New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    Nope. I tried doing my data restore with My Backup Pro this time... maybe I screwed up there somehow.
  17. HowardZ
    Offline

    HowardZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    I think that is all you need.
    The nandroid backup from when you were stock, along with the stock 602.11 kernel.

    but what do I know?
    I am a newbie to the HTC rezound

    if everything works well, I think your return to stock is finished?

    regards
    howard
Search tags for this page
back to stock htc vigor
,
can i get back to stock on rezound with a mac
,
droid back to stock from goo manager
,
how do can i get back to stock on my rezound
,
how do i get my htc rezound back to stock on a macbook
,
htc rezound stock boot image
,
htc rezound stock boot.img
,

htc rezound stock rom

,

htc rezound stock rom download

,
return to stock rom rezound s-on
,

rezound back to stock

,
rezound stock boot.img
,
shipped ruu for htc rezound
,
stock rom for hboot 2.01
,
verizon htc rezound stock rom image