FROYO for parents

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by dustin4863, Jul 3, 2010.

  1. dustin4863

    dustin4863 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    lbk tx
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok guys my parent both have droids running 2.1. They both recently asked me why they could not flash on there phones. Long story short i am going to root and load a froyo rom for them this weekend. My question is which one to load. i need a little help here.
    Thanks
    dustin
     
  2. hedney3

    hedney3 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    the truth is everyone is making very good froyo roms. currently im running a custom build ive made for myself but ive tried a few others and i have to say they were all very nice. id recommend jrummy's. he has always done a top notch job. Also you can try woody's roms as i enjoy much of his work aswell. enjoy!
     
  3. dustin4863

    dustin4863 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    lbk tx
    Ratings:
    +0
    very true and most everything is stable i am looking for something that my parents can't screw up
     
  4. hedney3

    hedney3 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Again i would stick with jrummy or woody. both roms dont have problems really. and dont require a bunch of extra work.
     
  5. hedney3

    hedney3 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    of course you could stick with team chaos which is based of frf57 but since we have all been on hiatus i wouldnt know how often i would be there to give support. but its a very simple and very stable froyo if thats what your looking for.
     
  6. Tanknspank

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. hedney3

    hedney3 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Another good option
     
  8. Tanknspank

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh, and you would need the flash apk, which I would link for you for easy download, but I'm on my phone now :p I'm sure you knew you needed it anyway.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  9. dustin4863

    dustin4863 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    lbk tx
    Ratings:
    +0
    @hedney3 thanks for your help but my parents do need support @tanknspank thank you also that is really what i was looking for thanks again both of ya'll
    if there are any more suggestion send them my way
    thanks
    dustin
     
  10. Fault

    Fault Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea I'm doing the same for my moms boss. Does stock allow tethering?

    Sent from my 'Simply Stunning' Droid using Tapatalk
     
  11. Tanknspank

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not sure if that stock build has working tethering or not. You can always download the wifi tether app from the market. Just test it for him to make sure.

    Oh, and you guys should sneak in a 800Mhz kernel for them. Should speed it enough to drastically change there phone without really any harm to the phone.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  12. dustin4863

    dustin4863 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    lbk tx
    Ratings:
    +0
    i was gonna use one of chevy's 1000mhz but if you say 800. then 800 it will
     
  13. Tanknspank

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    1ghz is fine, but then you might want to grab setcpu from xda-developers and set up some profiles.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk