Froyo auto restoring apps

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Tallica, Jun 15, 2010.

  1. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Don't get me wrong I love this feature and it almost leaves Titanium Backup obsolete when switching to Froyo Roms. But there is one thing that annoys me. Everytime my apps resync from the market it's like they are dowloaded for the first time (I have to set up all the options in each app, ringtones, notifications, settings, etc...)

    If I remember When you restored Titanium's backups they were in the exact state you left them.

    Anyway to do the same with the auto restore? Or anyway to disable the sync so I can just do a Titanium restore. Would save a lot of time setting up new Roms.
     
  2. tcrews
    Offline

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    The apps are stored on Googles "cloud" while the data you configure is stored on your phone. If you wipe your phone you are wiping the app and the data. Google updates your profile for the apps you downloaded so can push them back to you. They don't know how you configured it, and many people would not like google looking in to their installed apps to see what you are doing.

    Use Titanium backup to restore the data only....
     
  3. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    I was thinking of doing that didn't know how data jived with different Roms but I guess it's just the data from apps that should run on all Roms.
     
  4. tcrews
    Offline

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    Restore data to user applications, not to any OS applications and you'll be fine. Have done it on every ROM I have used.
     
  5. ytwokc5
    Offline

    ytwokc5 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's what I do. Def nice to have the restore all apps built into Froyo, but Titanium saves me a lot of work setting everything up again.
     
  6. Cowpoke
    Offline

    Cowpoke Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You're lucky, Google's cloud rained my apps out apparently. When I went to Froyo the market forgot about all but about 6 of my apps. had to search and reinstall most. I had used astro to back them up, but someone mentioned that they can not be updated by the market if you reinstall from astro.