Factory resetting a Droid RAZR with a black screen.

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by AndroidKachi7, Jul 14, 2012.

  1. AndroidKachi7

    AndroidKachi7 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you guys give me button press instructions? I can't see what I'm doing on the recovery screen.. and I don't know what's on the list so I can select reset. The screen is dead and I want to sell it for parts without someone getting their hands on my information that was left on the phone.
     
  2. jaybogg

    jaybogg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Ratings:
    +18
    Do you have a dock? Don't know if it would help but maybe some way to get a display from HDMI port.
     
    #2 jaybogg, Jul 14, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2012
  3. AndroidKachi7

    AndroidKachi7 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah yes, I have the HDMI cable. But will it output anything on that screen..? Guess I'll have to find out.
     
  4. AndroidKachi7

    AndroidKachi7 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep.. nothing is working. HDMI doesn't output when it goes to bootloader. Dammit.. I can see the display just fine, but the touch screen doesn't work on part of the screen that I need to unlock it. Ugh. I wish I could just plug it in to my laptop and factory reset it that way..
     
  5. jaybogg

    jaybogg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Ratings:
    +18
    Sorry it didn't help, thanks for the update though. It's how we learn!!:biggrin:
     
  6. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Give me a few minutes...

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  7. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    OK, I am going to assume you can get to the Boot Mode Selection Menu (BMSM = White text on Black background - but of course you can't see that...).

    Once on the BMSM;

    1. Press the Volume Down ONCE.
    2. Press the Volume UP ONCE.
    3. Wait at least 35 seconds (mine took 33 seconds for the Android ICON with the RED Triangle and Exclamation point to appear).
    4. Press BOTH Volume Up and Down, then release.
    5. You are now in Recovery.
    6. Press the Volume UP several times (just to make sure you are starting at the top of the list, in case you accidentally hit the Volume Down when pulling up the Recovery screen as I did once).
    7. Now...carefully press the Volume Down TWICE.
    8. Then press the Power Button ONCE.
    9. Next, press the Volume Down SEVEN (7) times (any number other than 7 will result in it going back to the previous menu, and then you'd have to hit Volume Down TWICE again and Power Button ONCE to get back here).
    10. Finally, press the Power Button ONCE and it will do the Factory Data Reset.
    11. Wait about 5 minutes to make sure the reset worked.
    12. Press Power Button ONCE to reboot.
    Done.

    If you have Clockworkmod Recovery installed, then I believe you can skip to step 7.

    If you can't see the screen and need to get to the BMSM from a fully powered on phone, you can;
    1. Press and hold all three buttons, Power, Volume Up and Volume Down for 8-10 seconds (8 seconds worked for me, don't really need Volume Up but I find it's easier to do when making the transition to the next step).
    2. Then briefly release all three, and then press and hold all three again for at least another 5 seconds.
    3. You are now in the BMSM.
    4. Jump to step one in the first section.
     
    #7 FoxKat, Jul 14, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2012
  8. Caesars

    Caesars Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    108
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +117
  9. AndroidKachi7

    AndroidKachi7 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow thanks FoxKat! I'll get on this as soon as possible. Hopefully I can know when I am on the boot mode selection menu.. because that's what I've been doing but I didn't know what to press. xD

    But yeah, thanks again! :D
     
  10. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Jeez, Caesars, where were you when I was trying to figure that all out? :D I could have used that and a couple screen captures to get the same results. Oh well, I got all the numbers of presses down anyway. I'm going to have to revamp those instructions and merge mine with them for the ultimate solution set. Thanks for the linky! ;)

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Xparent ICS Tapatalk 2
     
  11. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    No problem, AndroidKachi. I'm here to support the members and help everyone have the best user experience possible. Good luck! :D

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Xparent ICS Tapatalk 2
     
  12. AndroidKachi7

    AndroidKachi7 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Geez, just when I thought I was gonna be able to do something about it, now it won't power on.. I think it had something to do with me turning it off and then charging it.. but now it won't even power on. Gah. Oh well.. Just gonna have to pay up the full 200 bucks for that new MAXX.
     
Search tags for this page
droid black screen
,

droid razr black screen

,
droid razr m black screen
,
droid razr m screen black
,
droid razr screen black
,
droid razr screen goes black
,
factory reset droid razr no screen
,
how to hard reset a droid ultra with black screen
,
how to wipe droid razr with broken screen
,
razr black screen of death