1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

external hard drive problem

Discussion in 'Off Topic Forum' started by jcwilliams, Nov 18, 2012.

  1. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH
    I have a Seagate free agent go 500gb that just quit working. I was trying to watch a movie off of it so I decided to plug it into my ps3. It didn't work. Said it was a unknown device. So I plugged it back into my laptop to do some more transferring and now all it does is blink. It don't show up on my computer now. It does make a noise when plugging it on but that's it.
    I'm assuming it could be in some sort of fail safe mode but all I know is that my wife is going to kill me if I can't get the pics off of it!

    Please help.
    Thanks
  2. niXerKG
    Offline

    niXerKG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    If it's any sort of clicking sound you probably have an HD failure.

    The GO drives aren't great for streaming movies either. Slow RPM which mean read speeds aren't that great and terrible heat management. I use them mostly for back-ups but not an active drive.

    If it is a hard drive failure, there is still a chance you could salvage things by either using a Linux Live CD to access it, installing it into a computer and hoping it can be read or the last resort AND EXPENSIVE option of taking it to a hard drive recovery specialist but that's $1000 minimum up to $5000.
  3. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH
    Not what I wanted to hear lol. I read about it and they said it could be a power issue like the USB isn't providing enough power so I bought a y cable that I'm going to try. If that don't work I know a guy that's good with Linux.
  4. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH
    Update... Y cable didn't work. So we are going to try Linux on Monday.
  5. niXerKG
    Offline

    niXerKG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Good luck, you can also try the freezer trick. Stick it in a freezer for a bit, until it's cold but not frozen and see if you can recover stuff.

    Just beware each time you start it up and get it turning, you run the risk of corrupting more data.
  6. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH
    What's putting it in the freezer do? Lol
  7. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH
    What it's actually doing is being recognized as a completely different device. It'll install the driver for a different device but that's it...
  8. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH
    Well Linux didn't work :(
  9. niXerKG
    Offline

    niXerKG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Sorry that's if you have a clicky hard drive.

    That's odd, sounds like a corrupted board inside or something. You could maybe check Seagate's website for some diagnostic tools, might be able to fix it that way.

    A linux live CD didn't work at all?

    Can you remove the hard drive from it's enclosure and hook it up directly to a computer?
  10. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH
    I removed it from the enclosure and put it in a new one and got it to connect but it still don't come up one "my computer". Seagate manager is seeing the drive as a 2tb buts only a 500gb drive...I tried to format it but it failed also. I'm screwed :(
  11. niXerKG
    Offline

    niXerKG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    If you were trying to recover files, why would you even think of reformatting it?
  12. dasmueller
    Offline

    dasmueller New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was able to get some old pics off a camera SD card about a yr ago using some free software called Recuva. Might be worth a look.
  13. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH
    True I wasn't thinking. But it failed anyways.
  14. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH
    I tried recuva and it just sat at 0% for like 12 hrs didn't do anything...
Search tags for this page

how to mount an external hard drive onto a droid 3

,

how to transfer pic from droid x2 to external hard drive

,

ost to pst