ESN Help

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by Spark151, Sep 14, 2013.

  1. Spark151
    Offline

    Spark151 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So a few days ago I bought a droid x with a bad esn, but when I got verizon said it had a bad esn, and when I contacted Motorola, they said it was fine. Any help?
  2. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,632
    Likes Received:
    498
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    AFAIK, if Verizon deems it a bad ESN, they won't activate it.
  3. jamjr74
    Offline

    jamjr74 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MA
    Bad Esn usually means phone was reported lost or stolen or that there is an outstanding balance on the account phone came from. Don't think there is an easy way to activate it. Where did u buy it?

    Galaxy S4!!!
  4. Spark151
    Offline

    Spark151 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The box said "Reconditioned PCS" But the phone says Verizion. And Motorola says its fine. Weird
  5. Spark151
    Offline

    Spark151 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As i said in my last post to dezymond. But it came from NoMoreRack.com. (now i know they cant be trusted) But it was formatted for PCS. Should i send it back? (I already use a Razr MAXX as my media device)
  6. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,632
    Likes Received:
    498
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    So you're trying to activate it on PCS or Verizon?

    Verizon won't activate a bad ESN phone under any circumstances, to my understanding. Plus I don't think a phone flashed to work on PCS will work on Verizon anyway.
  7. AECRADIO
    Offline

    AECRADIO Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Payson, AZ.
    Verizon is mostly CDMA, and PCS is not in their network/licensing authorization.
    Verify the actual band the phone is working on, and if itis PCS, you can try MetroPCS if they serve your area, otherwise, skip the headache and return it and indicate it is a defective phone.
Search tags for this page

fixing verizon s4 bad esn