Droid x 2.3.15 software update

Jakefreese

Reaction score
I am a newbie, and searched for this my phone keeps trying to update and I postpone it to later. Should I allow this update? I do want to root it soon as I can figure it all out and get rid of the bloatware but I am still sifting through the threads trying to figure it all out the firmware is 2.1 update 1 and build is vzw.

Thanks!!dancedroid

kk4df

Reaction score
You can avoid the update if you do one of the following: 1. Root the phone, then install the Koush bootstrap program, run it, and select the Bootstrap (top) option, and 2. Root the phone, then rename the otacerts.zip file to something else.

If you choose option 1 to buy you some time, there's still an easy way to remove the Koush bootstrap if you decide to let the OTA update happen. But either method requires you to root the phone first.

TwerpPoet

Reaction score
Hold in mind most of the people having problems with the update are the ones who rooted and deleted bloatware. The other most reported problem is with SMS messages are displayed. Verizon says a fix is on the way.

My take on it, and only mine.

If you don't do a lot of SMS, update now and root after. If you do a lot of SMS then wait for the Verizon update and then root.

Rooting first is something I'd do only after I checked to make sure the root is fully reversible and several people have tested it.

Definitely do not delete the bloatware until after the update. Several people have reported needing to reinstall it to get the update to work.

Disclaimer: I have not rooted my phone. My advice is on the cautious side of the equation. Maybe overly so.

uconnkid3219

Reaction score