Droid Won't Return from Locked State (Screen Stays Blank)

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by badger98, Mar 8, 2010.

  1. badger98
    Offline

    badger98 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Apologies if this issue has been addressed in other threads, but I wasn't able to find another problem description that matched what I've seen recently.

    The following issue has occurred three times in the last week when the phone was in a locked state with the screen timed-out. Pressing the lock/power button did not turn the screen on. Long-press of the lock/power button did not turn the phone on or off. Only removing the battery and reinserting it allowed the phone to be turned on again. Once it came back on, the battery was still in good condition, so battery drain was not the culprit.

    Has anyone else experienced this problem? I'm wondering if this is a hardware or software issue. I'd really rather not hard-reset the phone, so before I go down that path, I wanted to get input from the experts.

    Thanks!
  2. mikenilson
    Offline

    mikenilson New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago Area
    I had this problem and it was suggested that Weather Bug was the culprit. I uninstalled it and have not had the problem since.
  3. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I would also check out Advance Task Killer as a possible problem, but I've seen Weather Bug cause issues with PC, Blackberry, and Droid.
  4. badger98
    Offline

    badger98 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Interesting... I don't have Weather Bug installed, though.
  5. nerdbox08
    Offline

    nerdbox08 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    I had this occur to my phone on a bad rom install. I am going to a assume from your factory reset comment, you haven't done a custom install.

    Apps, as mentioned, can be problematic at times. They might have just one bad strung of commands and that's enough to make your phone act silly. Go back and remove one at a time and see if the problem stops.
  6. badger98
    Offline

    badger98 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Verizon actually recommended when I bought the phone that I put Advanced Task Killer on the phone. Is this not considered a must-have app anymore?
  7. nerdbox08
    Offline

    nerdbox08 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Not that the verizon reps are stupid, but they aren't nearly as informed as they could be.

    Android doesn't need a task killer because of the way it operates. If you have an app giving you an actual problem you can force close it via the applications settings in the main system settings.