Droid shows connection to WiFi, but no go

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by pdpotter, Dec 8, 2009.

  1. pdpotter
    Offline

    pdpotter New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Droid shows I am connected to my home's WiFi, but I am unable to browse or use the Market unless I turn off WiFi and use 3G.

    Help???
  2. Trever1t
    Offline

    Trever1t New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    Covered in a few threads...are you using WPA2? AES? Some have found switching to TKIP alloweed them to connect. All I had to do was restart my wireless router and bingo!
  3. pdpotter
    Offline

    pdpotter New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks.

    Thanks, Trevor1T. That worked. I had noticed this problem before, but ignored it and switched back to 3G. Then I purchased Missing Sync for Android/Mac, which depends on a WiFi connection.

    Good to go now. :)
  4. Trever1t
    Offline

    Trever1t New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    glad it worked ;)
  5. zero7404
    Offline

    zero7404 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    just found this thread among others about the wifi problem.....i have the same problem as the op.....is the switch from wpa2 aes to tkip a definite fix for the connection issue ? i have 2 laptops, a pc and a PS3 that share the connection.....with a wireless printer on the way.....i hope i wont have connection problems with the PS3 or wireless printer if i change to tkip.......
  6. ralerick
    Offline

    ralerick New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wi-fi

    I re-set my router, with no luck connecting. I have a wpa2 set up right now. I go other places and my Moto Droid works fine with wpa and wpa2, just not at home. What setting may I have wrong?
  7. zero7404
    Offline

    zero7404 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    did you read thru this thread ? it apparently has to do with the type of WPA2 security....

    i for one want to be sure that switching from AES to TKIP is a resolution to the problem....
  8. jzmotodroid
    Offline

    jzmotodroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    droid eris does not recognize some modem's 802.11n signal if set security at WPA2. setting the security to WPA or turning signals to b/g solve the problems.
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2010
  9. ralerick
    Offline

    ralerick New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I will try these, LOVE the Droid! But why would they make a wifi device not compatible with WPA-2? This is a standard that has been out for some time now.:motdroidvert:
  10. zero7404
    Offline

    zero7404 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    wifi just pissed me off on this phone....they included it as a selling point but it's a BIG fail.....

    still awaiting on a dead-on yes/no with respect to this being a hardware issue or software issue.....
  11. ralerick
    Offline

    ralerick New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wi-fi

    The wi-fi works fine. I had to change my settings to TKIP on my router. I was afraid I would have to then go back and set up my network on all my other wi-fi enabled gadgets. Turns out that I changed the setting and they all recognized it, INCLUDING THE DROID.
  12. zero7404
    Offline

    zero7404 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    i don't see any reason to degrade the security tier of the connection from AES to TKIP in order to be able to share the connection with the phone. i mean, is the phone hardware that lacking that it can't handle AES reliably ?

    these days, it's only a matter of time before TKIP doesn't cut it to keep the everyday driveby wifi snooper from breaking and entering.
Search tags for this page

droid 2 unable to connect wifi

,

droid 3 global will not connect to wifi without 3g

,

droid 4 updated now no wifi connection

,

droid x shows wifi but drops signal

,

how to fix motorola android wifi phone connectivity

,

motorola droid x wi fi connection not showing

,

my droid shows no wifi

,

phone shows no connection when it is using wifi

,

wifi droid