how do you turn 3g back on?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by struong57, Jan 28, 2010.

  1. struong57
    Offline

    struong57 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, so I was using wifi on my motorola droid, them turned the wifi off thinking that my phone would automatically re-connect to the 3g network. but it did not, and I could not figure how to turn 3g back on. I had to power cycle the phone to get 3g back.

    am I missing something? shouldn't there be an easier way to switch from wifi to 3g?
  2. SnoDrtRider
    Offline

    SnoDrtRider Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Jersey & Tug Hill, New York
    The phone automatically switches from 3G to WiFi. Sometimes it seems to get stuck and I need to power cycle the phone to get it working again.
  3. struong57
    Offline

    struong57 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That sucks. I was really impressed with this phone during the first couple months of having it, but there are so many flaws that I wish I had gone with an iphone. :(
  4. bamfsig45
    Offline

    bamfsig45 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ICT
    Lol.......
  5. jsh1120
    Offline

    jsh1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,462
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    It's true that the phone designed to move between 3G and WiFi relatively seamlessly. However, the addition of third party software can create conflicts. For example, I use a 3rd party app (Y5-Battery Saver) that controls WiFi access automatically when I'm in range of a known wireless network. I also have an application dock widget on the home screen that allows me to turn WiFi on and off manually (among other settings) and a third app (WiFi OnOff widget) that does the same thing.

    I've found that the three apps (and the phone's default operation) sometimes battle with one another for control of WiFi. It's not a major problem and I've not yet figured out precisely the behavior of each app to determine which of the apps to jettison. But it's an object lesson in adding overlapping third party apps.
  6. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Make sure you don't have any app (or other) issues before you start blaming the device.
  7. Firegrl
    Offline

    Firegrl New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    I've had this issue as well.

    But what really bothers me is my phone likes to get stuck in 1x instead of 3G all the time. I usually first try putting it into Airplane mode, then taking it back out. If that doesn't work, then I will power cycle.

    When I first got my phone, it got stuck on 1x for over a week while my boyfriend (who lives with me) had no problems getting 3G. And at that time I really didn't have any apps installed.

    And now my Gmail won't sync a lot of the time. It does kinda seem the more I use the phone, the more annoyances pop up. Yes, I love my Droid, but it can be annoying sometimes....
  8. struong57
    Offline

    struong57 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If there was a way to figure out which app was conflicting with my 3g connection I would uninstall it in a heart beat. But unfortunately, due to android's open development and motorola choosing to go with that os, I must blame the device.
  9. ShowTime
    Offline

    ShowTime New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Uninstall all of them, see if problem goes away. Then reinstall them one by one to find out which one is causing the problem. Simple. Done. I'm not sure I see the logic in your statement; because of "Android's open development" and Android operating system, it's the phone's fault one of your apps might be conflicting with your wifi/3G switching? Even if it is a flaw within the phone, the fact that it has an open development platform doesn't really seem to apply and they are continually (well sort of.... stupid 2.1...) coming out with updates to fix bugs and upgrade usability.
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2010
  10. struong57
    Offline

    struong57 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The open development is a problem because the apps on the android market place are not tested by Google. Which results in software/hardware conflicts. Unlike the apps on the Apple store that must pass QA first before the app can be sold/downloaded.

    The android market does not separate apps by devices, so one app may work fine on one android device while constantly crashing on another android device.
  11. SnoDrtRider
    Offline

    SnoDrtRider Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Jersey & Tug Hill, New York

    I make sure to read ALL comments on apps BEFORE downloading them and only download apps that users report as working good with my device. I also only do one at a time/weekly so I pretty much know when I start having a problem which app most likely is the culprit.
  12. struong57
    Offline

    struong57 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I do the same thing, I read all the comments on an app before installing it, I just dont wait a week apart to install another app. Again, if there was done kind of quality assurance for the android market we would not have to "test" run a new app for a week to determine whether or not the app is compatible with your device or not. :(
Search tags for this page
how do i get 1x off my phone and back to 3g
,
how do i get 3g back on my android 4.0
,
how do i get 3g back on my android phone
,
how do i get 3g back on my phone
,
how do i get my 3g back on my phone
,

how do i turn my 3g back on

,
how do you get the 3g back in a droid power
,
how to get 3g back on my phone
,
how to turn 3g back on android
,

how to turn my 3g back on

,
how to turn my 3g back on my android
,

how to turn on 3g on droid

,
how to turn on 3g on my motorola droid phone
,
how to turn on a motorola 3g phone
,
how turn 3g back on