Droid 3 OTA failed

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by negropy, Sep 29, 2011.

  1. negropy

    negropy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just downloaded the OTA and it failed to install. I'm rooted but put all bloat back. This is depressing. Any ideas? Thanks in advance!
     
  2. random190user44

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    You missed something

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  3. jmorgania

    jmorgania Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you part of the soak test or is the update finally starting to roll out to all?
     
  4. Darksthour

    Darksthour Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think what he meant to say is "you need to unfreeze and unroot before uploading." Forgot to unroot your phone.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  5. jmorgania

    jmorgania Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nevermind my other question. I found my answer when I checked for an update on my phone and was pleased to see the update ready to download. Installing now.
     
  6. negropy

    negropy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does psouza's script work for unrooting?
     
  7. ndoren

    ndoren Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
  8. pistacio

    pistacio Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MA
    Ratings:
    +5
  9. negropy

    negropy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks ndoren and pistacio. Must have done something stupid. Not working
    For me, I think I'll have to restore using p3droid's fastboot file. I only froze stuff and used p3's bloat removal. I restored though. Guess should pay more attention next time
     
  10. nu2droid

    nu2droid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    See avatar
    Ratings:
    +6
    Have the same issue here. I got the notification, and I put back all the bloatware using the script from xda. (I never removed or froze anything on my own. I let the scripts do it the hole way.)
    Tried to install and failed.
    Unrooted via the one click, tried to installand failed.
    I double checked, all the bloat was renamed back to .apk. Rebooted and battery pulled multiple times. No good.
    Ideas?
     
  11. DeadDroid3

    DeadDroid3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Too weird that everyone is having this issue, has to be an .apk that is being missed by the script.. I wish I had a solution but I didn't have problems, I backloaded the leak.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  12. nu2droid

    nu2droid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    See avatar
    Ratings:
    +6
    After the script I even went back and looked for anymore ".bak"s and found one. FOTA. Changed it and tried again with no luck.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums