Rooted Droid 3 now update failure

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by indee2025, Sep 26, 2011.

  1. indee2025

    indee2025 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Ratings:
    +8
    I got the Droid 3 recently and it had 5.5959.XT862.Verizon.en.US

    I rooted right away and deleted all the bloatware (I know some like to freeze bloatware rather than delete but I clean up a lot more system files out of the system than you can do with just freezing)

    Tonight I got a OTA for version 5.6.890 and when I installed it after download it rebooted looked fine then said "Install Failed!"

    I'm okay with this part as I know the OTA update saw no bloatware and said EEK problem GACK and failed..my concern is that after a few hours or a day I will get that OTA message to download and install the update and the cycle will rinse & repeat for the life of the device....any truth to this?
     
    #1 indee2025, Sep 26, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2011
  2. lotzakritters

    lotzakritters Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I saw on one of the forums, that the leak testers will only get one chance, not sure if that is true or not. Sorry, forgot what forum that was. Hopefully that isn't true for you. Good luck

    Sent from my DROID3
     
  3. indee2025

    indee2025 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Ratings:
    +8
    Well I don't know, if I go to system updates and check to see if there's something there it brings up the opportunity to download 5.6.890 as much as I want....I'm really not caring about the update as much as I'm afraid of an OTA loop of asking me 3 times a day and attempting to do it (both download & install have countdown timers)
     
  4. lotzakritters

    lotzakritters Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It looks to be the same one that leaked awhile ago. You can just load that one up, it you can't get it to work right. I'm sure the asking will stop if you do. That's what I have on and still rooted, with out any problems.

    Sent from my DROID3
     
  5. mrcastillo

    mrcastillo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Tn
    Ratings:
    +0
    #5 mrcastillo, Sep 26, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2011
  6. DeadDroid3

    DeadDroid3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    No. reinstall bloatware and you should be fine. It will unroot you but you can use the one click root again.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  7. trebor_edwards

    trebor_edwards New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    does any one have an easier way to find bloatware to install, or better instructions to flash?
     
  8. BenLand150

    BenLand150 Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,815
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Ratings:
    +103
    Don't believe there is nor will there be.
     
  9. xyvyx

    xyvyx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    let's see

    curious how much this update will improve things. In a nutshell, when I first got my D3, I was ready to return it within 48 hours... it crashed doing lots of routine things (camera, mid-call, unable to answer, etc..). After I cleared all my imported wifi settings, then removed a bit of bloatware, it's been performing GREAT. ie: it's been really fast and battery life has been much better. By better, I mean I got 28 hours out of it before it got down to the 20% remaining level.

    So I had to copy the bloat back before this update would install (I'd just moved a handful of APKs to my SDcard), but it worked smoothly after I put everything back. Then I was able to move/disable them again and so far, it's behaving just fine.

    The APKs I moved include:
    Blockbuster
    Flickr authenticator
    LastFM Authenticator
    Myspace Authenticator
    Orkut Authenticator
    Skyrock Authenticator
    Yahoo Mail Authenticator
    NFF Mobile
    V Cast Media Manager
    Slacker
    Apps (vcast.apk)
    V Cast Tones
    V Cast Music
    V Cast Videos
    VZ Navigator
    Yahoo Contacts
    ZumoCast

    [​IMG]
     
  10. DELUXDroid

    DELUXDroid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What if your bloat is all just frozen? I've frozen stuff with Titanium, not deleted anything? Is it safe to do the update?
     
  11. darkmatter

    darkmatter Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I froze a lotof stuff. didn't unfreeze, didn't unroot, and update went through just fine...but that could be just me.

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
     
  12. wildride89

    wildride89 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chesapeake, Va
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I didn't unfreeze anything and my update went fine. I just haven't been able to regain root

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page

droid 3 is failing

,

motochomper root tool failure

,

my rooted android fails on verizon updates

,

patch release stop root droid 3

,

rooted droid 3 update

,

updating droid 3 root