Droid 3 Corp Sync prolem

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by ADBDroid, Jul 19, 2011.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. ADBDroid
    Offline

    ADBDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Droid 3 Corp Sync problem

    Hello all. We got our first Droid 3 at work and I cant get it to connect to my Active Sync. I am on Exchange 2007. I have SSL set to True. Our Droid 2's,Droid X's and Droid Pros can connect to Corp mail fine. I do know that I do not have a Public Certifcate installed but I have a local cert and its installed on the IIS Server which requires that my OWA to be HTTPS which works fine. We converted the cert to P12 and installed it on the Droid 3 and we dont get any errors but we dont see the cert on the phone under cert manager...... which is odd.

    When we try to do a corp sync on the phone I get "Cannot connect to server"

    I even got onto the Wireless here with the phone and I get the same error.

    The OS Version for the Droid 3 is 2.3.4 and my Droid X I have is 2.3.3 which works fine with my Active Sync.

    If it is indeed true that we need a cert.... why cant I grab the cert off the Exchange server and inport it into the phone.... I dont need a Public Cert do I?
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2011
  2. Csquared2429
    Offline

    Csquared2429 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same Problem

    I am getting a certificate emailed to me on a different email address and will let you know if that works.
  3. GasMaskGuy
    Offline

    GasMaskGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm seeing similar behavior with my new Droid 3.
    I'd love to get a solution before I'm forced to take this thing back to the store and either trade it in for a Thunderbolt or go back to my Blackberry.
  4. Csquared2429
    Offline

    Csquared2429 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Workaround

    Hey Gasmask -

    Another user found a solution that I will re-post:

    1) Set up your corporate sync using your gmail.com account (it still works if you have your actual gmail set up.
    2) The server is m.google.com
    3) once it syncs you can go in and change everything to your actual corporate server / login and turn off any options that you don't have access to.

    Woo Hoo!

    C
  5. brent817
    Offline

    brent817 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. Csquared2429
    Offline

    Csquared2429 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    In case you missed it:

    Originally Posted by Peirogirl
    Just purchased the Droid 3 today. I am an avid Droid owner as I had the original Droid and Droid 2 previously. I did not have issues with corporate sync until the Droid 3. After reading the forums on the net, I finally figured I would call Motorola directly as no one was having any luck. The issue is with the Gingerbread release that is loaded on the Droid X and Droid 3.

    Here is the solution that works!

    1. Set up corporate sync with your gmail account first using the following....
    (Username) enter your gmail email
    (Email) enter your gmail email
    (server) enter m.google.com

    2. Accept and save the account.

    3. open Settings ~ Accounts ~ and the account you just created.

    4. Modify all of the account settings to reflect your actual corporate account.

    5. Save....

    Viola!

    I spent over an hour on the phone with Motorola and it was well worth it! Please try this solution and enjoy!
Search tags for this page

android 2.3.4 corporate sync

,
does droid 2.3.5 support exchange 2008
,
droid 3 2.3.4 activesync account
,
droid 3 activesync setup
,
droid 3 verizon activesync
,
how to remove exchange active sync from droid 3
,
motorola droid pro android 2.3.4 not downloading corporate s
,
motorola droid x android 2.3.4 corporate sync
,
sycning issue with motorola droid 3
,
sync active motorola droid 3