Droid 2 stuck on bootloader screen - trying to SBF

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by adt1982, Jun 22, 2011.

  1. adt1982
    Offline

    adt1982 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    I have a bricked D2. I've gone through all the steps to flash using RSDlite but when the phone reboots it goes to the bootloader screen. RSDlite says it finished and the phone rebooted as it says it should, but I can't get any further.

    Help!
  2. duyna
    Offline

    duyna Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    South of Boston
    clear cache and data in recovery if not maybe re sbf always worked for me
  3. huskur
    Offline

    huskur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,868
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    1st you need just trying a battery pull and a reboot.
  4. adt1982
    Offline

    adt1982 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    I've tried to SBF 3 times. I get the above result each time. I've tried pulling the battery as well.
  5. huskur
    Offline

    huskur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,868
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    What version of RSD lite are you using? I recommend 4.8

    It runs natively as administrator on all machines. That may be your issue.
  6. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,544
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    OK….sbf says successful? And you unplug and when you boot it goes into bootloader?

    TBH & MyDroidWorld Present: Droid 2 (2.3.20) Triple Threat

    Now I also want to mention that you may want to Google TBH App, because they have a file that you can install that will do a sbf for you as well. And I moved you here because if my help doesn't work, maybe an RS member can help you.
  7. adt1982
    Offline

    adt1982 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    Yes, it says successful and goes into bootloader when it boots after being unplugged.

    RSD lite is version 4.8.
  8. adt1982
    Offline

    adt1982 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    I'm going to try downloading everything again and starting from scratch. Will follow hookbill's post and report back.

    Thanks for the help in moving the thread as well. :)
  9. ric5141
    Offline

    ric5141 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have pretty much the same issue. I can get to the ! mark in the triangle but when I hit the search button nothing happens. I am re-downloading everything and trying again. I also tried sbf_flash and everything says its good but on the reboot goes right back to the bootloader.
  10. ric5141
    Offline

    ric5141 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Still no glory.....It seems that this thing must be a brick or maybe the keyboard is shot. It indicates success on the sbf flash but then I cannot get into the system reset menu from the triangle with the ! in it.

    I hold the x down at power up. It goes to the triangle with the !. I hit the search(magnifying glass on the slide out keyboard) and nothing happens.....

    Just a thought does it require an sd card in it for the sbf flash?
  11. m1ghtysauc3
    Offline

    m1ghtysauc3 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canton, North Carolina
    Instead of hitting the search key, press the volume up and down buttons at the same time.
  12. ric5141
    Offline

    ric5141 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried that also. This is a Droid 2. But at this point I was trying anything I could think of. I still have no tbeen able to get in and clear the cache etc.

    I have a couple thoughts on this. Either the search key is fubarred or the memory is not maintaining the flash. A diagnostics program for these would be awesome. It woudl save lots of time.....

    Just a thought it loads up like an SBF and then runs through a series of tests....

    Still trying but no change
  13. ric5141
    Offline

    ric5141 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok so playing around with this brick some more. Flashed the 2.35 bootloader to it. Flash went and on restarting showed the 2.35 version in the loader screen. Retried flashing the 2.3.20 sbf to it....Now I see and "ritical error FEBE 0047" and a fail on the loader (using sbf_flash).

    Tried going in and clearing the cache but still no menu access.

    Rebooted and flashed to the 2.37 boot loader...and now I am getting the same error as the 2.35 bootloader....

    LOL...Making some real progress here!!! Not...

    Just about ready to say part it out!!!

    Dooh...used the wrong complete sbf in the test. Used the correct one and the result with both the 2.35 and the 2.37 loader are the same. Loads says it is fine reboots and no joy. Still cannot get into the reset menu.
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2011
  14. hurleygirlie05
    Offline

    hurleygirlie05 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the same issue then I found on a thread to use the volume keys on the side after hitting the magnifying glass. Sure enough, my options popped up. I used the enter key to select and cleared memory and cache and rebooted and now my phone is stuck with the stupid Motorola M. I have tried pulling battery and rebooting but with no luck. I NEED HELP!
  15. hurleygirlie05
    Offline

    hurleygirlie05 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did this and was finally able to clear memory and cache. When I rebooted from the screen, my phone now shows the Motorola M. Any suggestions?? It is frozen there...

    Thanks!
Search tags for this page
android 2 stuck in bootloader screen
,
bootloater is 2.37
,

droid 2 bootloader 10.11

,

droid 2 bootloader 2.35

,
droid bootloader 2.37 corrupt code
,
galaxy note 2 stuck at bootload screen
,
motorola droid x goes to bootloader 30.04 triangle but will
,
trying to root droid 2 stuck on boot loader screen