Droid 2 Boots up but screen is not working...

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Tech Issues' started by spkraft, Oct 10, 2011.

  1. spkraft

    spkraft New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was wondering if anyone has had or has this same problem...my droid 2 boots up fine in the background...I can hear the noises it makes when it boots up and when I touch the screen it vibrates...but the main screen stays black. The soft buttons will lite up though...If anyone has had this problem or knows of a fix was looking for some assistance..thank you
     
  2. spkraft

    spkraft New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thank you for your help :)
     
  3. Droid-Xer

    Droid-Xer Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +57
    Rooted? Or stock?
     
  4. spkraft

    spkraft New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    This was my original phone it was previously rooted but I gave this phone to my girlfriend to use and had to unroot it to update to gingerbread, so it is currently unrooted...but like i said the backlights all come on and the phone boots up, you just see nothing at all on the screen except for a dim backlight...
     
  5. Droid-Xer

    Droid-Xer Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +57
    If you hold a flashlight to the screen can you see the icons, apps, etc?
     
  6. spkraft

    spkraft New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    no the flashlight doesnt help...just a dim backlight on the screen is all...
     
  7. Droid-Xer

    Droid-Xer Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +57
    Hmm if any of the ports got wet even a little bit,the backlight will burn out. Replacements cost about $60-$80
     
  8. spkraft

    spkraft New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    it didnt get wet...was sitting on the computer desk all night...was working when we went to bed but the next morning the screen was in its current state...lol
     
  9. Droid-Xer

    Droid-Xer Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +57
    Hmm weird. Maybe try to get into bootloader mode and see if screen works there. Not sure how to do it on D2 though.
     
  10. spkraft

    spkraft New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I have tried bootloader mode...tried everything I can think of...im almost assuming im gonna have to replace the screen or the phone...

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  11. Droid-Xer

    Droid-Xer Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +57
    Probably makes more sense, money wise, to replace the phone. Check out the hardware for sale section at Android Forum
     
  12. slnewsome18

    slnewsome18 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey, I had the same problem...after spending many hours on the phone with Verizon and motorola...Im told that it will need to be flashed back to stock. Im working now on how to do that as Im not tech savvy, but I live an hour and a half away from the nearest retailer. I let you know if it works. My thoughts were that if it was in fact the digitizer? then I wouldnt be able to see the motorola batwings...anyways, I'll keep you posted. Good luck!
     
Search tags for this page
droid 2 global black screen
,
droid 2 global black screen problems
,
droid 2 global blank screen
,
droid 2 global screen not working
,
droid 2 screen light not working
,

droid 2 screen not working

,
motorola droid 2 global black screen
,
motorola droid x2 screen not lighting up
,
motorola droid x2 touch screen not working but it boots up
,
my verizon droidx2 boots to a black screen