Does Amazon get VZW phones at launch?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by lightsout, Oct 21, 2011.

  1. lightsout

    lightsout New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know this? Did they have the Bionic at launch. Hoping to get the Nexus from there but don't want to wait longer.

    Also I am grandfathered in with the unlimited plan as long as I select "existing account" nothing is touched with my plan right? I'm a little scared they will screw it up.
     
  2. lightsout

    lightsout New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. UrbanBounca

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,740
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +240
    I wouldn't trust Amazon with my unlimited data.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
     
  4. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,079
    Likes Received:
    1,506
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,670
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    I believe if you want to be grandfathered into an unlimited data plan you have to do it through Verizon. I don't think it can be done through 3rd parties from what I read, but I could be wrong.
     
  5. lightsout

    lightsout New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmmm, thanks, I'll have to look into it.

    I can select "keep my existing data plan" and the price is $29.99 (upgrades only).

    EDIT** Can't even use the amazon store card to buy a phone. I guess I'm over that idea.
     
  6. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,079
    Likes Received:
    1,506
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,670
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Well that sucks.

    I have read around that even when you click "keep existing data plan" it may lead you to a plan that's capped at 2gb, so read the fine print.
     
  7. googlelover

    googlelover Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +1
    Don't need to read the fine print, its as simple as calling Verizon, and asking them to either call Amazon on a conference call, or make sure you don't lose unlimited data. Problem solved.
     
  8. lightsout

    lightsout New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, good to know. I'm just going directly through Verizon to avoid any of this.