Do all ROMs require Data Wipe?

Discussion in 'Galaxy Nexus ROMS' started by Oliver84, Jan 7, 2012.

  1. Oliver84
    Offline

    Oliver84 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I rooted my Nexus but I'm hesitant to try out a new ROM. I'm a recovering ROM junkie (use to flash a new ROM at least weekly). I've done pretty good so far since my Nexus is still pretty much stock. The only reason I'm really trying to get out of the ROMing "game" is because I was just tried of wiping data and having to restore not just my apps but all my app data (without corrupting it).

    So my question is this, do you guys still need to wipe data and start restoring everything with these ROMs? If so, doesn't that get old? Or is there some new trick to it that I've missed since I've been kind of out of it for a few months?
  2. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Generally speaking if you are just upgrading to the newest ROM you can get by without a wipe.

    However if the developer calls for a wipe there isn't much you can. Also, if you are having issues with the ROM the first thing asked is if you wiped.

    Take it for what its worth.

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
  3. Oliver84
    Offline

    Oliver84 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's exactly why I'm trying to stay away from ROMs now. I don't think there are many times where you would have to wipe in order to get a stock update to work well. Of course the downside would be having to wait (like I've been waiting for 4.0.3) for updates but I was hoping with a Nexus I wouldn't have to wait that long...
  4. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Maybe I misunderstand your last post but you don't have to do anything when you geta system update that is an OTA update. Just let it download and install. No need to wipe anything. It will install right over the top of the current system build.

    This post is Incredible 2!
  5. Oliver84
    Offline

    Oliver84 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, I know you don't need to wipe with an official OTA update. I was just comparing it to custom ROMs which sometimes do require you to wipe.
  6. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    You are comparing Lamborghini to a Ford Escort.

    The ROM rewrites all the system files. Generally an OTA (as long as you aren't changing OS'es) is updating bits and pieces.
  7. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    I do wipe when installing new roms. But recovering from the wipe has never been easier. Here's a writeup I did a while ago about Factory Data Resets which pretty much equals the wipe you do when installing a custom rom:

    These have gotten pretty painless lately by following these simple steps: 1. Make sure Backup and Restore are checked in the Privacy setting. 2. When going through the setup after the reset, turn on wifi as soon as you can (assuming it is available). 3. After you have entered your Gmail account info, you will be presented with a screen that has two check boxes. Basically they are "Do you want Google to backup and restore this phoneā€¯. Make sure you check both of those. 4. Open the Market app and accept the market terms. 5. Your apps will then automatically reinstall (paid and free). Set the phone aside for a minute or two and let the apps download and install. 6. If rooted, use an app such as titanium backup to restore data only to select apps such as Tapatalk and you will not have to re-enter all your login information. I do this for 3-4 apps (Tapatalk, SPB Shell, etc.).

    I've been flashing new roms/updates about once every other day lately and I can be up and running with all my apps and settings back in place in less than 15 minutes. It's pretty painless now.

    I do make it a policy to stay away from roms that do not support the Google auto-restore feature. Of course that's pretty easy now as almost all roms do now. I've been trying out AOKP lately and I have stopped doing wipes for simple updates of the rom. I've experienced no adverse affects so far.

    Good luck.
Search tags for this page
change roms without wiping
,
do i have to wipe data to install rom
,
do i need to wipe data before flashing rom
,

does flashing a rom wipe data

,
does installing a rom erase data
,
flash rom without wipe data
,
flashing rom without wiping data
,

how to flash a rom without wiping data

,

install rom without wiping data

,
installing rom without wipe data
,
update rom without wipe
,
wipe rom