1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

DNA does nothing when I press check for updates

Discussion in 'HTC Droid DNA' started by Nevermore, Dec 8, 2013.

  1. Nevermore
    Offline

    Nevermore New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Went to get the update 2 nights ago and it appeared to be ready to go then I must have hit some button or whatever and that screen disappeared. Now when I hit status, it says the update was successful, yet nothing is different on the phone.

    When I look at the properties of the phone it still shows 4.1.1

    Every time that I hit check for updates now, nothing happens. It doesn't say checking for updates like it used to. Just sits and does nothing.

    Any ideas how I can get that working? Any ideas how I can get that update?

    I'm totally ticked off with this as I've never had this issue before and I really want this new update.

    Thanks for any help!
  2. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,168
    Likes Received:
    544
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Try rebooting... Shut it off for a few moments and then turn it back on...try it again....there's a way for moto phones to try to "force" the update.. But I don't think it works for HTC devices

    MAXXED OUT!!!
  3. Nevermore
    Offline

    Nevermore New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have tried that about 5 times since this happened... I'm still hoping to see it prompt me again, but I worry because it thinks it's up to date
  4. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,168
    Likes Received:
    544
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Hmmmm. I know there's an update rolling out....updates usually roll out in waves.. But you said your device got it and then it didn't take...are you rooted at all?? Any bloat apps frozen???

    I'm not really familiar with the DNA....is there an option to get the update straight from HTC on their website?? You might try that...

    MAXXED OUT!!!
  5. Nevermore
    Offline

    Nevermore New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not rooted. I've never had it do this on any DROID I've ever owned. Usually it will keep prompting you like a Jack Russell terrior until you choose to update :)

    I've never seen it get confused though that the update was successful even though the version hasn't changed and I clearly still have 4.1.1

    I can't find the update on the HTC site yet either.... I don't want to have to do a factory reset if at all possible.
  6. Psykho
    Offline

    Psykho New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There was a small 16mb update on Friday it wasn't the 4.2. The 4.2 update started rolling out on Saturday and is 564mb. Like the post above said it comes out in waves so you should get it eventually...
  7. Nevermore
    Offline

    Nevermore New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is what I show when I click on status. When I click on check for new, it does nothing, normally it would say device is up to date, but mine is not saying anything anymore... .. I'll try to be patient then, but I hate waiting ;-)

    ForumRunner_20131208_145019.png
  8. Psykho
    Offline

    Psykho New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been using Android since the beginning and in my experience when there is an update out the check new will sometimes do nothing or sometimes say "server error please try again later" but I always get the update. Waiting does suck I usually check new twice an hour. I got lucky this time and I got it right when I woke up Saturday. Hang in there..
  9. Nevermore
    Offline

    Nevermore New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, I'll do that... Hope it's soon though
  10. Sherry
    Offline

    Sherry Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    The Great Smoky Mountains NC
    Saw this yesterday and like you, when I clicked on Check for Updates, nothing happened. I powered off, left it alone for a few minutes and when I powered on I got a notice about an update. Went through the process but when I checked was still 4.1.1. I kept messing with it and about an hour later powered off again, left for a few minutes and when I powered on, checked for updates and got the notice there was one. It went through the process again and this time came up 4.2.2. This is the first time since the OG Droid I had to work to get an update, just spoiled. Hope yours comes through.
  11. Nevermore
    Offline

    Nevermore New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My first update showed up Friday and as of this morning, still waiting for the second.... Waiting sucks! I should be used to that though...
  12. Nevermore
    Offline

    Nevermore New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Finally got it! Wooohooo!
  13. omarlotfy
    Offline

    omarlotfy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Please tell me how you got it !! i have the same problem here :(
  14. Nevermore
    Offline

    Nevermore New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I didn't have to do anything other than be patient. It ended up showing up again about 2 days later. I couldn't force it regardless of what I tried. Just hang in there and it should appear. Unless something else is messed up on your phone.
  15. omarlotfy
    Offline

    omarlotfy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    can i download the official rom ? and put it in my droid ?
  16. Nevermore
    Offline

    Nevermore New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, you have to wait for it to come via ota... Unless you are rooted, but in that case you wouldn't even care about it because the ROM's already have these updates.
  17. Nevermore
    Offline

    Nevermore New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Come to think of it though, you should've received it by now regardless. It wouldn't take well over a month to come down. You might be better off wiping your phone (factory reset) and seeing if the updates come down that way.
Search tags for this page
droid dna can't find update
,

droid dna force update

,
droid dna not checking for updates
,

droid dna wont check for update

,
droid dna wont check for updates
,

droid dna wont update

,
force droid dna update
,
force update droid dna
,
galaxy s3 check dna
,

htc dna wont update

,
htc droid dna force update
,

htc droid dna wont update

,

my droid dna wont update

,

my htc dna wont update

,
why wont my htc droid dna update