Difference between Liberty and Fission

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by BackSeatSuicide, Mar 10, 2011.

  1. BackSeatSuicide
    Offline

    BackSeatSuicide New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I was wondering what the main differences between liberty and fission are. As far as looks they seem to be pretty damn similar. So I'm assuming the main differences are in the functionality. Whatare those differences?

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  2. buryboi
    Offline

    buryboi Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The biggest difference, among other, minor things, is the liberty toolbox. JRummy also included a roottools script to simplify terminal commands.

    Also, the framworks are very different, although, cosmetically they appear similar. And finally, the apps were built off of newer source code in liberty (at least I think they were).

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  3. BackSeatSuicide
    Offline

    BackSeatSuicide New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Speaking of terminal emulator, what is that for, I saw it in my app drawer and opened it, and it reminds me of MSDOS command prompt lol so what's it for?

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  4. X_TAC23
    Offline

    X_TAC23 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    deep in the heart of texas
    Terminal emulator is the same as msdos it let's you push commands. Liberty has made their own and its a little easier to use. Open it up and type in roottools.
  5. BackSeatSuicide
    Offline

    BackSeatSuicide New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Im using Fission, not liberty, but I typed in roottools and it said" access denied, so idk what would I use it for?

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  6. buryboi
    Offline

    buryboi Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There is no roottools in Fission...Unless you buy JRummy's App off the market...pretty handy script actually, if you're into typing terminal commands.
  7. X_TAC23
    Offline

    X_TAC23 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    deep in the heart of texas
    Sorry I took it as you were using liberty.