D2 Radio update?

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Roms' started by dankarlinski, Jul 6, 2011.

  1. dankarlinski
    Online

    dankarlinski Guest

    Is there one? I seem to have issues with the radio dropping 3g to 1x, and then returning a few minutes. This happens every 5 minutes or so. I know there is no issue with coverage as I can lay it next to a droid1 and DX (even running the same rom) and they have no signal issues at all. I've tried sbfing, and it doesn't really change anything...

    Suggestions? Or should I call verizon and / or asurian and get it replaced?

    And, on that note, I am under my 1 year manuf. Warentee for defects. Anyone know how I can go about getting it replaced?

    Sent from my CyanDroid2 (Nightly #4)
  2. ahC_hED
    Offline

    ahC_hED New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chattanooga, Tn
    This started happened to me about 2-3 months ago, it'll drop to 1x or it will go to the white 3g icons and never come back. A reboot or cutting on airplane mode usually fixes it for me.

    Sent from my CMed DROID2 using DroidForums
  3. DroidBurgundy
    Offline

    DroidBurgundy New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    this has ALWAYS happened to me when tethering airplane mode toggling fixes it every time, is this a defect? I just assumed it was moto engineering at its finest
  4. dankarlinski
    Online

    dankarlinski Guest

    Not sure... I am currently flashing rom to rom to rom to see if I can find one that doesn't do it.
  5. DroidBurgundy
    Offline

    DroidBurgundy New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know it happened to me on monster gb leak, ZS, and Liberty GB, have yet to tether using Apex
  6. simon_lefisch
    Offline

    simon_lefisch Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SoCal
    I never had any radio probs with any of those ROMS except Apex (which I have yet to flash) and I ran them for at least a couple of weeks at a time. Id have to say that's quite a strange thing to happen.

    sent from my Liberated Gingercomb Juiced DROID2
  7. dankarlinski
    Online

    dankarlinski Guest

    Yeah. I think its phone related... verizon is monitoring my signal stregnth and stuff.

    Sent from my CyanDroid2
  8. papp_e
    Offline

    papp_e New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ive had the same problem since moving to GB. Before GB, I never had the problem, and I also noticed when upgrading to GB for the first time, a radio update was installed.

    I assume its the leaked GB radio update causing these problems. Hopefully with the legit release of GB the radio will be more reliable.
  9. dankarlinski
    Online

    dankarlinski Guest

    That is true. I forgot about the gb update. That's likely my issue. Is there a way you flash back the old radio? I did an sbf and still have the issue.

    Sent from my Liberated Droid2 (2.0.1)
  10. simon_lefisch
    Offline

    simon_lefisch Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SoCal
    Again I had no radio issue so I doubt it GB. Must be a hardware prob. I've flashed many different roms that are GB based and have never had an issue. If you return the phone to verizon don't forget to sbf back to stock.

    sent from my DROID2 running CM7
  11. dankarlinski
    Online

    dankarlinski Guest

    I know.

    I am leaning to verizon to send me a new phone. If they say no, I got my 1 year warentee from moto. Ill sbf and send them this one. Ill just use my D1 until I get my new phone. Maybe ill get a DX if I'm lucky

    Sent from my Liberated Droid2 (2.0.1)
  12. Redflea
    Offline

    Redflea New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you flash the Froyo SBF on a Windows PC using RSD it will restore the Froyo radio (.07P) version...
Search tags for this page

fm radio for android version 2.0.0049l356011