Custom ring for contacts?

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate' started by ignitros, Sep 19, 2010.

  1. ignitros

    ignitros New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do we assign custom rings to each contact? I have tried in sounds and going into each contact. On the Droid X you just hit menu/edit while in the contact and scrolled down to ringtone. I did a search and didn't find anything posted yet even though I know there was something a few days ago. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Edit: I dound one way over at XDA but it just seems like a pain in the butt.
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=8149050&postcount=19

    1. Create a duplicate contact stored on the phone (orange icon)
    2. Link the new contact to the other existing contact
    3. Edit the linked contact, and choose the Phone tab at the top
    4. Scroll down to see the Ringtone option
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2010
  2. mickdroid

    mickdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was just wondering the same thing. LOL Had it before and now with Droid I seem to be limited to the default ringtone of my choice instead of being able to individualize each contact I wish to such as family members.
     
  3. dricacho

    dricacho Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Ratings:
    +0
    The option is there. At least on my phone. Edit the contact and the option is there. Just need to navigate to the tabs. You won't find much searching in the Fascinate section since the phone is a few weeks old, we are all on the same boat. Just gotta explore the phone more and take your time.
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2010
  4. ignitros

    ignitros New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    The option is ONLY available if you have saved the contact to your phone. If you sync exclusively through Google, Facebook, MySpace or any other account you will NOT have the option of adding custom rings. The above is the only way I've found so far.
     
  5. dricacho

    dricacho Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've synced all of my contacts from my old BB Storm and into Outlook. From Outlook, I exported them into Gmail. Then synced them into the Fascinate. I can assign a custom ring into any of my contacts. I don't synch my phone to any of the social networking sites.
     
  6. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    Get Ringo from the market. Great options to customize ringtones, leds and vibrate patterns for contacts. :D
     
  7. mickdroid

    mickdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    okay so how do you sync. You need a program to do that when you mount your USB to the computer from the device. What program are you using to sync with?
     
  8. Eldroid

    Eldroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now that solved a frustration...thanks! Ringo Lite works
     
  9. mickdroid

    mickdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    I went the duplicate entry into the phone route on those near enough and important enough to me that I want an identifying custom ring tone for. It is a small thing but Verizon/Samsung should look at that when they do an update for the system.
     
Search tags for this page
assign contact ringtone to prevail
,
how do i assign a ring to a contact on my samsung
,
how do i assign contacts on a samsung galaxy prevail
,
how do i assign rigtones on my galaxy s4
,
how to assign different ring tones to text messages in a gal
,

how to customize a text tone for a contact on a samsung gala

,
how to individualise contacts with ring tones on samsung pho
,
how to personalize ringtones for a contact on samsung galaxy
,
samsung galaxy s4 how to assign a custom text tone to a cont
,
samsung stratosphere default ringtone silent but contact rin