1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Contact photo question.

Discussion in 'Droid X Roms' started by shrekfx, Feb 24, 2011.

  1. shrekfx
    Offline

    shrekfx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have a quick question with contact photos. I'm running liberty 1.5. Also using handcent for the texting app. I sync up my contacts from Google and Facebook and pulls photos just fine. But using the Widgets from liberty for quick access to call/text it wont show the photo just the Droid dude. Now when I go into the contacts there is no pick for the gmail accounts but there is for the Facebook. Is there an option to use the Facebook photos as the default for my contacts?

    Sent from my DX Liberty 1.5
  2. shrekfx
    Offline

    shrekfx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here is a photo of the Widgets. The ones with pics are selected pics. The ones without do have a Facebook pic into the contacts but not for the gmail part.

    [​IMG]

    Sent from my DX Liberty 1.5
  3. shrekfx
    Offline

    shrekfx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bump

    Sent from my DX Liberty 1.5
  4. patelhj1
    Offline

    patelhj1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have done the exact same thing but for some reason my picture from facebook didnt carry over... anyone know how to fix this? im currently running the liberty v1.5 rom and enjoy it.. really new to rooting and appreciate the help!
  5. Smashie
    Offline

    Smashie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Did you go to your Contacts>Edit>scroll down to fb pic and click it>Use this photo>save
  6. shrekfx
    Offline

    shrekfx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Awesome. Thanks. I've been messing with this for a week. Life saver.

    Sent from my DX Liberty 1.5
  7. Smashie
    Offline

    Smashie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    You're welcome! Glad to help.
  8. patelhj1
    Offline

    patelhj1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    still waiting on reply guys.. I dont know why but none of my picture from FACEBOOK got carried over to my contact picture... someone please let me know how to fix this so i can begin enjoying liberty v1.5 :)
  9. Smashie
    Offline

    Smashie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    None of your contacts pictures at all or just the ones on shortcut contact widget?

    To sync your facebook pictures, go to the market, download the Facebook app, and when you open it, it should ask you about sycning your contacts. If you missed somehow after initial install, just go to fb>settings>scroll down to Sync Contacts ..there you will have the option to sync all, Sync with Existing Contacts or Remove Facebook Data.

    If you are just talking about the shortcut contact widget, I already answered this in an earlier post.
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2011
  10. patelhj1
    Offline

    patelhj1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @smashie: really helped... i wasn't able to do anything under Facebook but refresh... then found out that i have to be Facebook screen selection and then hit the menu button and setting would come... thanks for the help +1
  11. shrekfx
    Offline

    shrekfx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ya. Again thanks a lot. A long pressed and tried everything but the Facebook pic. Here is a quick question on this. If some one up dates their Facebook pic does it update the contact pic auto or would I have to manually do it?

    Sent from my DX Liberty 1.5
  12. patelhj1
    Offline

    patelhj1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can answer this one either u can set it to auto sync by going to Settings > Accounts > check Auto Sync ... or you can open the Facebook app > Settings > Sync Contacts to to sync the contacts .. or u can just wait if u have auto sync checked and it should do it depending on what intervals you have ur syncs at
  13. Smashie
    Offline

    Smashie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The contacts will autosync in the contacts app, just like patelhj1 stated, but I just put the shortcut widget on my home screen earlier today and noticed that the picture didn't update like it did in the contacts. I dont' know if that's common or what since I just used the shortcut widget for a contact for first time ever. I've been wanting a Sense-like people widget that had a few of the contacts on but cant seem to find one that uses the fb pic. so I just use my "favorite" list in contacts for a short cut.
  14. shrekfx
    Offline

    shrekfx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok. I know it will change in the contacts. But not sure about the shortcut widget.

    Sent from my DX Liberty 1.5