Connectivity Issues Still?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by LegalAmerican, Feb 12, 2012.

  1. LegalAmerican
    Offline

    LegalAmerican Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UTAH
    Ratings:
    +16
    So I haven't had ANY problems with my Bionic until .902 update. I swear I can't keep 4g to save my life and then I lose everything. Even on CDMA only it struggles with keeping 3g. Anyone else notice this on their update? I tried battery pull but it didn't do much.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  2. xmguy
    Offline

    xmguy Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    RURAL TN
    Ratings:
    +4
    I've noticed my Bionic seems to be slower than usual with 3G. Don't have 4G.

    Sent from my BIONIC out in the boonies of TN while picking a guitar!
     
  3. LegalAmerican
    Offline

    LegalAmerican Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UTAH
    Ratings:
    +16
    I love this phone so I don't want to swap it for a refurbished one that the previous owner dropped in his toilet. I want this one cause i'm comfortable holding it up to my face cause I know where it's been.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  4. Renae
    Offline

    Renae Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6
    I've had nothing but problem TILL 902, now I never drop 4g. I've been angry since buying this phone but this update has been amazing so far to me. Finally....because I was thinking about returning it.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  5. americanz
    Offline

    americanz Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i had great data for about the 1st week. now i have more data drops than ever before
     
  6. nateohio
    Offline

    nateohio Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    You'll very rarely hear me suggest this, but I've always done a FDR whenever installing a new rom or update. Yes, you have to set your phone back up, but I also have never had any issues with updating.

    At the very least, wipe the cache and dalvik. You never know what kind of crap is left behind after changing system files.
     
  7. americanz
    Offline

    americanz Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    well why would it work great for a week then go to hell?
     
  8. droidvj
    Offline

    droidvj New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Because sometimes the problems are with Verizon's network and not the phone.
     
  9. americanz
    Offline

    americanz Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    when it drops my wifi too its not verizon
     
  10. Knowpig
    Offline

    Knowpig Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unless it's Fios on a Verizon supplied router.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  11. americanz
    Offline

    americanz Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i assure you its not. its not verizon its the update or the phone
     
  12. BroidDrionic
    Offline

    BroidDrionic Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    It's dropping wifi, too?! Never heard of that problem with a bionic. I was a little apprehensive going to 902 from 901 since 901 was so amazingly perfect for such a long time. 902 seems to be equally as good for me so far though!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  13. Batman8
    Offline

    Batman8 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +3
    I too surely feel your pain!! I thought it was just me that seems to have great success with each update for just the first 24 hours (.866 > .893 > .901 > .902) and then it all goes to hell as far as my data connection. I mean the first day after EACH update had my phone working PERFECTLY. Then the very next day after each update, I would start losing my data connection. Not only from 4G-LTE to 3G, but then to NO-G and having NO DATA CONNECTION AT ALL!!!!

    I wish I knew what was consistently causing this problem. All I can conclude is that it's either a crappy phone (which I really don't want to believe since I LOVE this phone "when it's f*#king working"), Verizon's crappy service, or something about the updates or the process. I sort of feel that it's more Verizon than anything else because when going into a local Verizon store I'm told that ALL of their 4G-LTE devices are constantly having issues...i just wish they would get it together since this stuff aint cheap, so I expect it to work properly at least most of the time. However, I will admit that I don't usually do a FDR, or wipe dalvic cache or anything before installing each update and maybe I should going forward.

    Anyone else having similar issues after updating? I hate calling VZW about it because all they usually suggests is a battery pull, FDR and then a refurbished replacement...and I am in 100% agreement with you LegalAmerican when you say that you don't want a refurbished phone put up to your face that may have been in the previous owners toilet! I had to pay full retail for my Bionic but at least I knew that it was brand new so I don't believe in replacing it with a used one.

    Anyone else have any ideas on what may be causing this?
     
  14. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    No problems here, but I confess that part of that may be due to the fact that I had fried my sim card and got a new one just before manually installing .902 (although it's been good since the day I got the phone).
     
  15. americanz
    Offline

    americanz Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    the sim card will have to do with the data issue?