1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Connectivity Issues Still?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by LegalAmerican, Feb 12, 2012.

  1. LegalAmerican
    Offline

    LegalAmerican New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UTAH
    So I haven't had ANY problems with my Bionic until .902 update. I swear I can't keep 4g to save my life and then I lose everything. Even on CDMA only it struggles with keeping 3g. Anyone else notice this on their update? I tried battery pull but it didn't do much.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  2. xmguy
    Offline

    xmguy New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    RURAL TN
    I've noticed my Bionic seems to be slower than usual with 3G. Don't have 4G.

    Sent from my BIONIC out in the boonies of TN while picking a guitar!
  3. LegalAmerican
    Offline

    LegalAmerican New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UTAH
    I love this phone so I don't want to swap it for a refurbished one that the previous owner dropped in his toilet. I want this one cause i'm comfortable holding it up to my face cause I know where it's been.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  4. Renae
    Offline

    Renae New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I've had nothing but problem TILL 902, now I never drop 4g. I've been angry since buying this phone but this update has been amazing so far to me. Finally....because I was thinking about returning it.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
  5. americanz
    Offline

    americanz New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i had great data for about the 1st week. now i have more data drops than ever before
  6. nateohio
    Offline

    nateohio New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You'll very rarely hear me suggest this, but I've always done a FDR whenever installing a new rom or update. Yes, you have to set your phone back up, but I also have never had any issues with updating.

    At the very least, wipe the cache and dalvik. You never know what kind of crap is left behind after changing system files.
  7. americanz
    Offline

    americanz New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well why would it work great for a week then go to hell?
  8. droidvj
    Offline

    droidvj New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Because sometimes the problems are with Verizon's network and not the phone.
  9. americanz
    Offline

    americanz New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    when it drops my wifi too its not verizon
  10. Knowpig
    Offline

    Knowpig New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Unless it's Fios on a Verizon supplied router.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  11. americanz
    Offline

    americanz New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i assure you its not. its not verizon its the update or the phone
  12. BroidDrionic
    Offline

    BroidDrionic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's dropping wifi, too?! Never heard of that problem with a bionic. I was a little apprehensive going to 902 from 901 since 901 was so amazingly perfect for such a long time. 902 seems to be equally as good for me so far though!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  13. Batman8
    Offline

    Batman8 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    I too surely feel your pain!! I thought it was just me that seems to have great success with each update for just the first 24 hours (.866 > .893 > .901 > .902) and then it all goes to hell as far as my data connection. I mean the first day after EACH update had my phone working PERFECTLY. Then the very next day after each update, I would start losing my data connection. Not only from 4G-LTE to 3G, but then to NO-G and having NO DATA CONNECTION AT ALL!!!!

    I wish I knew what was consistently causing this problem. All I can conclude is that it's either a crappy phone (which I really don't want to believe since I LOVE this phone "when it's f*#king working"), Verizon's crappy service, or something about the updates or the process. I sort of feel that it's more Verizon than anything else because when going into a local Verizon store I'm told that ALL of their 4G-LTE devices are constantly having issues...i just wish they would get it together since this stuff aint cheap, so I expect it to work properly at least most of the time. However, I will admit that I don't usually do a FDR, or wipe dalvic cache or anything before installing each update and maybe I should going forward.

    Anyone else having similar issues after updating? I hate calling VZW about it because all they usually suggests is a battery pull, FDR and then a refurbished replacement...and I am in 100% agreement with you LegalAmerican when you say that you don't want a refurbished phone put up to your face that may have been in the previous owners toilet! I had to pay full retail for my Bionic but at least I knew that it was brand new so I don't believe in replacing it with a used one.

    Anyone else have any ideas on what may be causing this?
  14. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    No problems here, but I confess that part of that may be due to the fact that I had fried my sim card and got a new one just before manually installing .902 (although it's been good since the day I got the phone).
  15. americanz
    Offline

    americanz New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the sim card will have to do with the data issue?
  16. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    Well, the sim card is necessary for 4G. When Airplane Mode and the Restart Connection app haven't work some people have had success by removing it and the battery, replacing the battery and powering up. Then power down, remove the battery, replace the card (along with the battery) and power up. That's supposed to reacquaint the phone with the sim card.

    In my case, crazy enough as it is, if you keep getting the "Checking for updates unavailable at this time" message and do the sim card trick, the next time you check for updates it'll actually check for updates. I had put the card in backwards and when I powered up I got a "No Sim Card" message. I put in in correctly, but although the message was gone all I had was 3G. I took the phone to a Verizon store, told them what I did and what happened. They confirmed the card was bad and swapped in a new one for free. 4G came back on right away and I seem to get it quicker.

    I was on .901 at the time and manually installed .902 the next day. Again, I can't say data is better because of .902 or a new sim card.
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2012
  17. Notafan
    Offline

    Notafan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I wouldn't hesitate to ask for a new sim card. I don't know how it all works but I have seen an awful lot of Bionic posts where the sim card replacement fixed the data issues. That is where I would start, at least since it is the easiest of all the solutions.
  18. americanz
    Offline

    americanz New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i tried the pull sim card boot with out it trick, seems to work..... for now
  19. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
  20. nri1998
    Offline

    nri1998 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did not have any data drop issues after updating to 5.9.902 and I was so happy that the problem got fixed. Not anymore. I lost data connection few times this evening and I am very disappointed now. I don't think Verizon or Motorola has a clue how to fix it.