Configuring Long press search button

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by Moos, Sep 13, 2010.

  1. Moos

    Moos New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know any way to change the default on when you long press the search button? it defaults to open voice search. I recently downloaded an app called quick settings which is supposed to open when i long press search and would to configure the X to do so. But to no avail I can not figure out how to change it from the voice search command. Any ideas?
     
  2. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I have a rooted Droid. When I long press the search soft key a new window opens which allows me to select Handcent or Voice Search. I do not remember adding the Handcent app to any additional setting that would include it as an option. My sense is the OS added it for me. If that is the case then I imagine that there is an apk that you can modify to accomplish what you are requesting. Unfortunately, what apk that may be and where is it located is above my knowledge base.

    Mike
     
  3. Moos

    Moos New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    *Bump* Anyone? i'm starting to think it's not possible. i'm not rooted BTW.
     
  4. lterry913

    lterry913 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    long press home

    I worked with the develpoer of* in app wifi widget* to get this to work for a non roote user(like myself). We could not find a work around so I installed quick settings instead...it lets you pull down notification bar from any page and toggle a multitude of settings and and then just hit back to return...I hope this helps because there is no work around iI have heard of yet...Developer says it is because the buttons are physical touch and Push instead of touch sensor, so hardware issue.
     
  5. Moos

    Moos New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reply. I Guess I will just use the quick settings app from the notification bar. not as convenient but still better than having that ugly power control widget on my screen.
     
  6. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,571
    Likes Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +325
    Disregard this not awake yet and read your post wrong.
     
  7. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    yup press the menu key after pressing the search button for that :)
     
Search tags for this page

android change long press search button

,
android configure long press
,
android long press search
,

android long press search button

,
change long press home button from search to menu
,
change long press search android
,
change long press search button android
,
how to change long press search on android
,
long press home button android
,

long press search button android